NYSE · Retail-Eating Places · CIK 0001041061
$150.71
-2.05% · delayed 15 min
$42.06B market value
What this company does
YUM BRANDS runs restaurants and bars. It took in $8.21B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 19 cents is left as profit.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score -0.76
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From YUM BRANDS INC's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +8.8%
$7.55B to $8.21B
Deteriorated: −2.1 pts
71.9% to 69.8%
Improved: +14.5%
$1.43B to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$1.56B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$2.01B cash from operations
It holds more cash than debt, so borrowings are not a pressure.
$671.0M more cash than debt
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z -0.76
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 9% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 11 years it grew by about 4% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 19 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $1.56B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 51 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 39% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 9 years.
GoodFigures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $1.56B and generated $2.01B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Nothing recent
No insider trades, pending-sale notices or 5% stake filings from YUM in the last few months. That is the ordinary case, not a gap.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-09-01 | 2026-09-01 |
| Major event announcement (amended)(8-K/A) | 2026-08-28 |
Financial figures are from YUM's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
5 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
-0.76
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +15.1%
$616.0M to $709.0M
Changed: +44.4%
$257.0M to $371.0M
3 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 6% and 11%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 3.1% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 8.8% last year.
No — it holds more cash than debt, with $671.0M left over after paying off every borrowing. For every $1 it owes, it owns $0.53 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
Around average. Investors pay $27.0 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| 2026-08-20 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-21 | 2026-08-20 |
| Major event announcement (amended)(8-K/A) | 2026-08-07 | 2026-03-26 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-07 | 2026-08-07 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-05 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-30 | 2026-07-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-16 | 2026-06-16 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-16 | 2026-06-16 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-02 | 2026-05-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-19 | 2026-05-14 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-06 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-29 | 2026-04-29 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-04-03 | 2026-05-14 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-01 | 2026-03-26 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-20 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-12 | 2026-02-10 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-04 | 2026-02-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-26 | 2025-11-21 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-11-07 | 2025-09-30 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Yum! Brands, Inc. to Participate in the Barclays Annual Global Consumer Conference
Yahoo Finance ·
Dropping the Dough: Yum! Brands Strategically Trims the Fat
Yahoo Finance ·
Pizza Hut Just Went Private in a $2.7 Billion Sale — Here’s the Turnaround Plan
Yahoo Finance ·
What Could Steve Bratspies Bring To Yum! Brands (YUM) As A Director?
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Is Shake Shack (SHAK) Down 1.3% Since Last Earnings Report?
Yahoo Finance ·
McDonald's Trades at 19.15X P/E: Is This a Discounted Opportunity?
Yahoo Finance ·
KFC names first global chief brand officer amid identity overhaul
Yahoo Finance ·
McDonald’s Is Near a 52-Week Low. Is This the Contrarian Buy of 2026?
Yahoo Finance ·
Dutch Bros Stock Is Down Sharply, But History Has A Warning For Dip Buyers
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research