NEW YORK STOCK EXCHANGE, INC. · Hotels, Restaurants & Leisure · CIK 0001058090
$28.14
+0.07% · live
Updated
$38.14B market value
From CHIPOTLE MEXICAN GRILL INC's FY2025 10-K, filed Feb 4, 2026 · read the filing
CHIPOTLE MEXICAN GRILL runs restaurants and bars. It took in $11.93B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 13 cents is left as profit.
The financial picture is led by profitability and debt, with growth worth watching.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
Financial health
Strong finances across the board.
From CHIPOTLE MEXICAN GRILL INC's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2025
Earnings per share
$55.95 → $1.13
Cash
$748.5M → $350.5M
Shares in issue
27.4M → 1.36B
Revenue
$11.31B → $11.93B
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K filed Feb 4, 2026
Deteriorated: -98.0%
$55.95 to $1.13Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
How the latest move compares (quote live), and what was published around it
CMG rose 0.07% on the latest quote. The average Consumer Discretionary company tracked here moved +2.35%, and the S&P 500 −1.04%. That is 2.3 points below its sector and 1.1 points above the market.
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 9% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 13% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 13 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $1.54B last year.
Slowly. Sales grew 5.4% last year.
No — it holds more cash than debt, with $350.5M left over after paying off every borrowing. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.46 in assets.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $1.54B and generated $2.11B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
As reported to the SEC, in USD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY202510-K · Feb 4, 2026Filing for FY2025 | FY202410-K · Feb 5, 2025Filing for FY2024 | FY202310-K · Feb 8, 2024Filing for FY2023 | FY202210-K · Feb 9, 2023Filing for FY2022 | FY202110-K · Feb 11, 2022Filing for FY2021 | ChangeFY2025 vs FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueWhat is this? | $11.93B | $11.31B | $9.87B | $8.63B | $7.55B | +5.4% |
| Selling, general and administrative | $652.0M | $697.5M | $633.6M | $564.2M | $606.9M | −6.5% |
| Operating income | $1.94B | $1.92B | $1.56B | $1.16B | $804.9M | +1.0% |
| Operating marginOperating income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 16.2% | 16.9% | 15.8% | 13.4% | 10.7% | −0.7 pts |
| Income before tax | $2.01B | $2.01B | $1.62B | $1.18B | $812.8M | −0.0% |
| Net income | $1.54B | $1.53B | $1.23B | $899.1M | $653.0M | +0.1% |
| Net marginNet income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 12.9% | 13.6% | 12.4% | 10.4% | 8.7% | −0.7 pts |
| Earnings per shareNet income ÷ shares outstanding at the period end — close to, but not the same as, the reported EPSWhat is this? | $1.13 | $55.95 | $44.48 | $32.07 | $23.20 | −98.0% |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
This company's latest filing beside its peers' stored scores
| Company | Health | F-Score | Revenue growth | Profit margin | P/E | Debt to equity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMGCHIPOTLE MEXICAN GRILL INC · this page | 8.7/10 | 6/8 |
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Officers, directors and major shareholders must report within two business days of a trade.
Had shares withheld to cover taxes — 3,253 shares at $31.95 ($103.9K)
Holds 80,629 shares after this filing.
Was granted or awarded shares — 4,747 shares at $33.51 ($159.1K)
Holds 4,747 shares after this filing.
20 recent filings, newest first. Each is labelled from its form and item numbers, not from its wording.
Had a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingWrite down why you are following CHIPOTLE MEXICAN GRILL INC, what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to a filing in the timeline, each linked to the document itself.
The 23 subsidiaries named in its 10-K, incorporated across 11 places. A filer lists the significant ones and may leave the rest out, so this is the floor rather than the full count.
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from CMG's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31, filed Feb 4, 2026), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
3 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. Accounting had too few reported figures and is left out of the average rather than counted as a weakness, so a company is never marked down for a figure it did not publish. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 8 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Each year scored only from its annual report as it was first filed
| Fiscal year | Health | F-Score | Scored from |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | 8.7 | 6/8 | 10-K, filed Feb 4, 2026 |
| FY2024 | 8.7 | 7/8 | 10-K, filed Feb 5, 2025 |
| FY2023 | 8.7 | 7/8 | 10-K, filed Feb 8, 2024 |
| FY2022 | 8.7 | 7/8 | 10-K, filed Feb 9, 2023 |
| FY2021 | 8.7 | 7/8 | 10-K, filed Feb 11, 2022 |
| FY2020 | 7.3 | 7/8 | 10-K, filed Feb 10, 2021 |
A later restatement never reaches back into an earlier year, and every year is scored without a share price, so the latest point can differ a little from the headline score, which uses today's price.
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
6 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
2.36
In the grey zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: -53.2%
$748.5M to $350.5MCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Deteriorated: +4842.7%
27.4M to 1.36BCritical
Why it matters: New shares divide the same company into more pieces, so each existing holding owns slightly less of it. Often pay for staff or an acquisition rather than anything wrong.
Improved: +5.4%
$11.31B to $11.93BNotable
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Changed: +12.3%
$593.6M to $666.3MNotable
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025, from the 10-Q filed Jul 31, 2026 — read it.
Deteriorated: -73.0%
$844.5M to $228.2MCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: -5.0%
1.34B to 1.28BSignificant
Why it matters: The company bought back stock, so each remaining holding owns slightly more of it. Worth checking it was not funded by borrowing.
Improved: +9.3%
$3.06B to $3.35BNotable
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Deteriorated: -6.0%
$559.1M to $525.6MNotable
Why it matters: Profit from running the business, before interest and tax. Less exposed than profit to one-off financing and tax items, so a clearer read on the business itself.
Deteriorated: -7.5%
$436.1M to $403.5MNotable
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Deteriorated: −2.5 pts
18.2% to 15.7%Notable
Why it matters: What survives each sale after running the business. A falling operating margin beside a steady gross margin points at overheads — wages, marketing, research — rather than pricing.
Deteriorated: −2.2 pts
14.2% to 12.1%Notable
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026, from the 10-Q filed Jul 31, 2026 — read it. Quarter-to-quarter moves include seasonal swings — a retailer's holiday quarter — which the year-earlier comparison removes.
Improved: +32.4%
$397.1M to $525.6MSignificant
Why it matters: Profit from running the business, before interest and tax. Less exposed than profit to one-off financing and tax items, so a clearer read on the business itself.
Improved: +33.3%
$302.8M to $403.5MSignificant
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +35.4%
$0.23 to $0.32Significant
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +8.4%
$3.09B to $3.35BNotable
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Improved: +2.8 pts
12.9% to 15.7%Notable
Why it matters: What survives each sale after running the business. A falling operating margin beside a steady gross margin points at overheads — wages, marketing, research — rather than pricing.
Improved: +2.3 pts
9.8% to 12.1%Notable
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Deteriorated: -7.5%
$246.6M to $228.2MNotable
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: -1.6%
1.30B to 1.28BNotable
Why it matters: The company bought back stock, so each remaining holding owns slightly more of it. Worth checking it was not funded by borrowing.
6 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week — or compare against peers
Loading price history…
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 7% and 11%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Opinions from 41 analysts covering this company, as of . Their views, not this site's.
Of 41 analysts publishing on this company, 9 say strong buy, 19 say buy and 13 say hold. Analysts are paid to publish a view and are wrong often; the split above says how much they agree with each other, which is the part a single headline rating hides.
Published by Finnhub. Analyst coverage skews towards larger companies and towards optimism — sell ratings are rare across the whole market, so a company with none is ordinary rather than endorsed.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 2.8% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
The trailing P/E is 25.0x — investors pay $25.0 for each $1 of trailing profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
| 5.4% |
| 12.9% |
| 24.83x |
| 2.18x |
| MCDMCDONALDS CORP | 7.3/10 | 6/8 | 3.7% | 31.9% | 21.08x | -34.23x |
|---|
| SBUXSTARBUCKS CORP | 4.7/10 | 6/8 | 2.8% | 5.0% | 62.41x | -4.95x |
|---|
| DASHDoorDash, Inc. | 8.7/10 | 5/8 | 27.9% | 6.8% | 84.92x | 0.96x |
|---|
| YUMYUM BRANDS INC | 6.0/10 | 6/9 | 8.8% | 19.0% | 27.65x | -2.12x |
|---|
| QSRRestaurant Brands International Inc. | 6.0/10 | 6/8 | 12.2% | 11.4% | 24.62x | 5.63x |
|---|
| Median of peers | 6.0/10 | — | 8.8% | 11.4% | 27.65x | -2.12x |
|---|
Peers come from the company's industry classification. A difference describes the companies; it does not rank them.
Had shares withheld to cover taxes — 20,075 shares at $35.29 ($708.4K)
Holds 176,465 shares after this filing.
Had shares withheld to cover taxes — 31,522 shares at $35.29 ($1.1M)
Holds 318,609 shares after this filing.
Had shares withheld to cover taxes — 27,582 shares at $35.29 ($973.4K)
Holds 390,788 shares after this filing.
Had shares withheld to cover taxes — 19,701 shares at $35.29 ($695.2K)
Holds 76,020 shares after this filing.
Had shares withheld to cover taxes — 9,276 shares at $35.29 ($327.4K)
Holds 83,882 shares after this filing.
Notice filed ahead of a planned sale — the sale itself has not necessarily happened yet.
Filed notice to sell 2,675 shares ($95.6K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Restricted Stock.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Quarterly report for Q2 FY2026
Revenue +9.3% · Operating margin −2.5 pts · Cash -73.0% — against Q2 FY2025
Published results · Reported another event
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingHeld a shareholder vote
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2026
Revenue +7.4% · Operating margin −3.8 pts · Cash -66.0% — against Q1 FY2025
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingProxy statement for a shareholder meeting
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2025
Revenue +5.4% · Earnings per share -98.0% · Cash -53.2% — against FY2024
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q3 FY2025
Revenue +7.5% · Operating margin −1.1 pts · Profit margin −1.1 pts — against Q3 FY2024
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingSource: Exhibit 21 of the 10-K filed 2026-02-04. These are legal entities, not brands or acquisitions — a company that bought a business may hold it inside an entity named here, or inside one small enough that the rule does not require naming it at all.
Coverage from the last 30 days
Why Did CRWV, SMR, CMG Stocks Plunge To 52-Week Lows Today?
Yahoo ·
Stocks making big moves yesterday: Dell, Chipotle, Amkor, Super Micro, and United Airlines
Yahoo ·
Has Chipotle Mexican Grill (CMG) Fallen Below Fair Value After Its 32% Slide?
Yahoo ·
Dutch Bros vs. Chipotle Mexican Grill: Which Consumer Stock Is a Better Buy in 2026?
Yahoo ·
Restaurant Brands (QSR) Reports Next Week: Wall Street Expects Earnings Growth
Yahoo ·
Why Did NFLX, CMG, AVEX Stocks Crash To 52-Week Lows Today?
Yahoo ·
Is McDonald's Stock A Real Bargain?
Yahoo ·
SPHQ, QUAL, and MOAT Define Quality Differently. Those Rules Decide What You Own
Yahoo ·
Why Chipotle (CMG) stock is trading lower today
Yahoo ·
Dutch Bros, Sweetgreen, Portillo's, Kura Sushi, and First Watch shares are falling, what you need to know
Yahoo ·
El Pollo Loco and Papa John's shares plummet, what you need to know
Yahoo ·
Wingstop, CAVA, Wendy's, Shake Shack, and Jack in the Box stocks trade down, what you need to know
Yahoo ·
Primary sources and further research