Nasdaq · Motor Vehicles & Passenger Car Bodies · CIK 0001318605
$354.08
+1.53% · delayed 15 min
$1.33T market value
What this company does
Tesla makes cars and vehicle parts. It took in $94.83B last year, which makes it a very large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 4 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From Tesla, Inc.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Deteriorated: -46.5%
$7.09B to $3.79B
Deteriorated: −3.3 pts
7.3% to 4.0%
Improved: +73.7%
$3.58B to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$3.79B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$14.75B cash from operations
It holds more cash than debt, so borrowings are not a pressure.
$8.36B more cash than debt
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it well clear of distress.
Altman Z 16.01
Sales are shrinking rather than growing.
down 2.9% on last year
It keeps less of each sale as profit than it did a year ago.
7.3% → 4.0%
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 38% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 6 years it grew by about 34% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 4 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $3.79B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $3.79B and generated $14.75B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-23 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-22 | 2026-07-22 |
Financial figures are from TSLA's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
5 of 9 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's.
16.01
In the safe zone
For this model, above 2.99 is safe and below 1.81 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: +19.0%
$5.54B to $6.58B
Deteriorated: +16.6%
3.22B to 3.75B
Changed: -24.8%
$11.34B to $8.53B
3 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 35% and 41%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.8% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
No. Sales shrank 2.9% last year.
No — it holds more cash than debt, with $8.36B left over after paying off every borrowing. For every $1 it owes, it owns $2.51 in assets.
Expensive. Investors pay $350.1 for every $1 of yearly profit, so a lot of future growth is already priced in.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-02 | 2026-07-02 |
| Annual report (amended)(10-K/A) | 2026-04-30 | 2025-12-31 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-23 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-22 | 2026-04-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-02 | 2026-04-02 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-01-29 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-28 | 2026-01-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-02 | 2026-01-02 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-07 | 2025-11-06 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-23 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-22 | 2025-10-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-02 | 2025-10-02 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2025-09-17 | 2025-11-06 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-05 | 2025-09-03 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-04 | 2025-08-03 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-24 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-23 | 2025-07-23 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-10 | 2025-07-09 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Goldman Sachs Delivers Stark Message on Tesla Stock
Yahoo Finance ·
Cybercab Could Transform Tesla, But Regulatory Risks Loom
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Tesla Stock Under $360 a Share an Obvious Buy in September?
Yahoo Finance ·
Billionaire has 5-word response to Elon Musk's Tesla chart
Yahoo Finance ·
Elon Musk Owns 28% of Tesla, a Stake Worth Nearly $350 Billion. Here's Why His Ownership Level Matters for Shareholders.
Yahoo Finance ·
Tesla Plus SpaceX Could Become a ‘Must-Have’ Investment, Ross Gerber Says
Yahoo Finance ·
Tesla Stock Is Tumbling -- Robotaxi Hopes Hit a Major Roadblock
Yahoo Finance ·
Tesla Says This Time Is Different. Wall Street Is Split on Whether to Believe It
Yahoo Finance ·
Meta Is Underperforming Every Trillion-Dollar Stock but Tesla. This Trade Pays You While Wall Street Waits It Out.
Yahoo Finance ·
Cathie Wood Has Stuck With Tesla Through Repeated Missed Robotaxi Deadlines. Here's Why She's Still Buying.
Yahoo Finance ·
Cybercab a Cyberflop? Tesla’s Robotaxi Launch Delivers Tiny Fleet, Big Investigation.
Yahoo Finance ·
OpenAI, Anthropic IPOs Could Spark a Selloff in These Struggling Stocks — IBM, Tesla, AppLovin Among Names at Risk
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research