Nasdaq · Motor Vehicles & Passenger Car Bodies · CIK 0001874178
$15.74
-2.05% · delayed 15 min
$19.52B market value
What this company does
Rivian Automotive, / DE makes cars and vehicle parts. It took in $5.39B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. It spends more than it earns — losing about 68 cents on every dollar of sales.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score -1.44
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
Several areas of financial weakness.
From Rivian Automotive, Inc. / DE's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +8.4%
$4.97B to $5.39B
Improved: $1.10B narrower
-$4.75B to -$3.65B
Improved: +26.8 pts
-24.1% to
Nothing in the filings stands out as a clear strength.
It loses money, so it depends on cash reserves or new funding to keep going.
$3.65B lost last year
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z -1.44
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 12.5% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
No. It lost $3.65B last year, losing about 68 cents on every dollar of sales.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it lost $3.65B and generated -$779.0M of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Nothing recent
No insider trades, pending-sale notices or 5% stake filings from RIVN in the last few months. That is the ordinary case, not a gap.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-27 | 2026-08-24 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-30 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from RIVN's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
4 of 9 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's.
-1.44
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.99 is safe and below 1.81 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +27.8 pts
-95.5% to -67.7%
Improved: $368.0M narrower
-$2.86B to -$2.49B
Deteriorated: -32.4%
$5.29B to $3.58B
Deteriorated: +9.6%
1.13B to 1.24B
Changed: +49.9%
$1.14B to $1.71B
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 8.4% last year.
Yes — it carries debt while operations are consuming cash rather than generating it. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.45 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
It has no profits to compare a price against, because it lost money last year.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-30 | 2026-07-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-09 | 2026-07-07 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-06 | 2026-07-06 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-02 | 2026-07-02 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-26 | 2026-06-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-04 | 2026-05-04 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-30 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-30 | 2026-04-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-30 | 2026-04-30 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-04-27 | 2026-06-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-02 | 2026-04-02 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-19 | 2026-03-18 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-12 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-12 | 2026-02-12 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-02 | 2026-01-02 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-19 | 2025-12-17 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-07 | 2025-11-06 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-11-04 | 2025-09-30 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Rivian (RIVN) Loses its CFO to GE Vernova (GEV) Right in the Middle of its Biggest Bet Yet
Yahoo Finance ·
BYD vs. Rivian: Evaluating the Better Automotive Stock to Buy for 2026
Yahoo Finance ·
What Does Rivian Automotive (RIVN) CFO Claire McDonough's Exit Mean?
Yahoo Finance ·
Rivian Announced That Its CFO Is Stepping Down. How Investors Should View the Departure.
Yahoo Finance ·
Tesla Advances 6% as Traders Await Cybercab Event, Lucid Rises 3%, Rivian Ticks Up
Yahoo Finance ·
Better Stock: Lucid vs. Rivian (Hint: It's All About Shareholder Dilution)
Yahoo Finance ·
Better Stock: Lucid vs. Rivian? (Hint: Unit Economics and Gross Profits Are Key.)
Yahoo Finance ·
Rivian to Participate at Upcoming Investor Conferences
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Rivian (RIVN) a Millionaire Maker Stock?
Yahoo Finance ·
Lucid’s CEO Promised a $1.4 Billion Turnaround, Then This Happened
Yahoo Finance ·
CFO Turnover at AT&T, Caterpillar, and Pfizer Sparked Rallies. Here’s Why Rivian’s Didn’t.
Yahoo Finance ·
Volkswagen replaces North America CEO Kjell Gruner after sales drop
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research