NYSE · Electric Services · CIK 0000092122
$88.11
-0.16% · delayed 15 min
$96.64B market value
What this company does
SOUTHERN supplies electricity, gas or water. It took in $29.55B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 15 cents is left as profit.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score 0.70
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From SOUTHERN CO's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +10.6%
$26.72B to $29.55B
Deteriorated: −1.8 pts
16.5% to 14.7%
Deteriorated: turned negative
$833.0M to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$4.34B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$9.80B cash from operations
It holds more cash than debt, so borrowings are not a pressure.
$917.0M more cash than debt
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.65x cover on near-term bills
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z 0.70
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 3.0% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 15 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $4.34B last year. Note that after $12.74B of spending on property and equipment, it consumed $2.94B more cash than it generated.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 69 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 31% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $4.34B and generated $9.80B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-06 | 2026-08-03 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-04 | 2026-08-03 |
Financial figures are from SO's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
5 of 7 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 2 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
0.70
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +53.2%
$1.07B to $1.64B
Changed: +42.2%
$8.96B to $12.74B
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 10.6% last year.
No — it holds more cash than debt, with $917.0M left over after paying off every borrowing. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.33 in assets. Its operating profit covers the interest 2.25x over, which is not much room. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
Around average. Investors pay $22.3 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-03 | 2026-08-03 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-30 | 2026-07-30 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-30 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-08 | 2026-06-08 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-15 | 2026-05-13 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-30 | 2026-04-30 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-30 | 2026-03-31 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-04-03 | 2026-05-13 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-19 | 2026-03-16 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-25 | 2026-02-20 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-19 | 2026-02-19 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-19 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement (amended)(8-K/A) | 2026-02-17 | 2025-07-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-19 | 2025-12-19 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-10 | 2025-12-09 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-06 | 2025-11-03 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-30 | 2025-10-30 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-30 | 2025-09-30 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Southern Co (SO) Cleared PSC Review for 3.2GW of OpenAI Demand. Can Data Centers Lower Customer Bills Without Raising Grid Risk?
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Southern Company Stock Underperforming the Dow?
Yahoo Finance ·
Southern's Unit Wins Regulatory Approval for OpenAI Power Deal
Yahoo Finance ·
3 Utility Dividend Stocks Built to Keep Paying in Any Economy
Yahoo Finance ·
No ETFs Required: How a 64-Year-Old Built a $5,700 Monthly Paycheck From Five Dividend Stocks
Yahoo Finance ·
Forget XLU: These 3 Utility Dividend Stocks Offer More Exposure to AI
Yahoo Finance ·
3 Time-Tested Dividend Stocks to Build Annual Income
Yahoo Finance ·
Stock Market Today, Aug. 28: PG&E Falls 8% on Wildfire-Liability Uncertainty Ahead of Aug. 31 Deadline
Yahoo Finance ·
Georgia Power's Learning Power program marks 15 years and 1.5 million Georgia students reached
Yahoo Finance ·
Can GE Vernova's $176B Backlog Sustain Its Growth Momentum?
Yahoo Finance ·
XLU’s AI Power Story Crumbles as Texas Freezes Data-Center Demand
Yahoo Finance ·
Why High-Yield Baby Bonds Offer Income Investors a Rare Opportunity
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research