NYSE · Electric Services · CIK 0000936340
$136.08
+0.16% · delayed 15 min
$28.27B market value
What this company does
DTE ENERGY supplies electricity, gas or water.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score 0.81
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From DTE ENERGY CO's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Deteriorated: +14.3%
$22.14B to $25.31B
Improved: +766.7%
$24.0M to $208.0M
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$1.46B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$3.41B cash from operations
It passes almost every standard check of financial strength.
Piotroski 6/7
Clearing its debt would take many years at the current rate of cash generation.
about 7.6 years of cash flow
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.80x cover on near-term bills
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z 0.81
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 2.1% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It earned $1.46B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 60 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 26% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $1.46B and generated $3.41B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-09-04 | 2026-09-01 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-31 | 2026-07-31 |
Financial figures are from DTE's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
6 of 7 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 2 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
0.81
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Not enough history has been reported to judge growth.
Yes. Clearing its debt would take roughly 7.6 years of cash flow. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.29 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
Around average. Investors pay $19.3 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-28 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-28 | 2026-07-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-22 | 2026-06-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-18 | 2026-06-18 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-05 | 2026-06-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-15 | 2026-05-15 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-12 | 2026-05-07 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-01 | 2026-05-01 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-30 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-30 | 2026-04-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-23 | 2026-03-23 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-17 | 2026-03-16 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-12 | 2026-03-12 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-09 | 2026-03-09 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-27 | 2026-02-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-18 | 2026-02-18 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-17 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-17 | 2026-02-17 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Are Wall Street Analysts Predicting DTE Energy Stock Will Climb or Sink?
Yahoo Finance ·
EXC or DTE: Which Is the Better Value Stock Right Now?
Yahoo Finance ·
Prediction: DTE Energy Will End The Year At This Price
Yahoo Finance ·
LGES starts production at Lansing battery plant in US
Yahoo Finance ·
T-Mobile Stock Rises on Report Elliott Opposes Deutsche Telekom Merger
Yahoo Finance ·
How Investors Are Reacting To Deutsche Telekom (XTRA:DTE) Zacks Upgrade And Valuation Re‑Rating
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Deutsche Telekom (XTRA:DTE) Undervalued After Its Zacks Upgrade?
Yahoo Finance ·
Deutsche Telekom (XTRA:DTE) Stock May Be Below Fair Value After An 85% Gain
Yahoo Finance ·
DTE Energy (DTE) Down 4.1% Since Last Earnings Report: Can It Rebound?
Yahoo Finance ·
Peter Thiel’s $418 Million Bet On These 8 Companies Reveals AI’s Biggest Bottleneck
Yahoo Finance ·
LG Energy Solution Starts Production at 35-GWh Michigan Battery Plant
Yahoo Finance ·
Social Buzz: Wallstreetbets Stocks Mostly Higher Premarket Monday; Sandisk, Micron to Advance
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research