NYSE · Services-Consumer Credit Reporting, Collection Agencies · CIK 0001059556
$493.55
-4.16% · delayed 15 min
$88.84B market value
What this company does
MOODYS /DE/ provides business and staffing services. It took in $7.72B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 32 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Strong finances across the board.
From MOODYS CORP /DE/'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +8.9%
$7.09B to $7.72B
Improved: +19.5%
$2.06B to $2.46B
Improved: +1.9 pts
72.6% to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$2.46B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$2.90B cash from operations
Its debt is small next to the cash the business produces.
about 1.6 years of cash flow to clear
It passes almost every standard check of financial strength.
Piotroski 8/9
Nothing in the filings stands out as a concern.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 14% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 9% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 32 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $2.46B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 29 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 24% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodFigures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $2.46B and generated $2.90B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Nothing recent
No insider trades, pending-sale notices or 5% stake filings from MCO in the last few months. That is the ordinary case, not a gap.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-12 | 2026-08-11 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-23 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from MCO's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
8 of 9 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's.
6.38
In the safe zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +2.8 pts
29.0% to 31.9%
Improved: -1.4%
182.5M to 180.0M
4 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 11% and 16%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.4% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 8.9% last year.
No. At its current cash flow it could clear its debt in about 1.6 years. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.36 in assets.
Expensive. Investors pay $36.1 for every $1 of yearly profit, so a lot of future growth is already priced in.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-22 | 2026-07-22 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-23 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-22 | 2026-04-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-16 | 2026-04-14 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-15 | 2026-04-15 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-04 | 2025-12-31 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-18 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-18 | 2026-02-18 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-12 | 2026-01-08 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-19 | 2025-12-16 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-23 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-22 | 2025-10-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-17 | 2025-10-14 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-21 | 2025-08-19 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-24 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-23 | 2025-07-23 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-21 | 2025-07-18 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-16 | 2025-07-15 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Moody’s Assigns First-Time Insurance Financial Strength Ratings to Freedom Insurance and Freedom Life
Yahoo Finance ·
Ignitis Group receives Baa1 credit rating from Moody's
Yahoo Finance ·
Moody’s Reaffirms WSFS Financial Corp’s Baa2 Issuer Rating with a Positive Outlook; Reflects Diversified Business Model, Strong Capital, and Earnings Strength
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Moody's (MCO) Getting Too Expensive For Its Earnings?
Yahoo Finance ·
Moody's Pushes Deeper Into AI With Google
Yahoo Finance ·
Moody’s Brings Its Decision-Grade Intelligence to Gemini Enterprise for Financial Services
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Wall Street Bullish or Bearish on Moody's Stock?
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Xcel Energy a Dividend Stock Retirees Can Actually Count On?
Yahoo Finance ·
Berkshire Hathaway Owns AI Exposure in 3 Different Ways. Here's Why That's Not the Same as Owning Nvidia.
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Is StoneX Group (SNEX) Up 4.2% Since Last Earnings Report?
Yahoo Finance ·
Morningstar, Moody's, Goldman Sachs, Lazard, and StoneX Stocks Trade Up, What You Need To Know
Yahoo Finance ·
Upstart (UPST) Down 6.7% Since Last Earnings Report: Can It Rebound?
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research