Nasdaq · Security & Commodity Brokers, Dealers, Exchanges & Services · CIK 0001156375
$281.29
-1.58% · delayed 15 min
$101.17B market value
What this company does
CME trades securities and runs financial markets. It took in $6.52B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 62 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From CME GROUP INC.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +6.4%
$6.13B to $6.52B
Improved: +15.5%
$3.53B to $4.07B
Improved: +4.9 pts
57.5% to 62.5%
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$4.07B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$4.28B cash from operations
It passes almost every standard check of financial strength.
Piotroski 6/7
Nothing in the filings stands out as a concern.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.4% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 62 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $4.07B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 97 cents of every dollar of profit, which leaves little room for the payment to survive a bad year. It paid out 92% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
MixedFigures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $4.07B and generated $4.28B of cash from operations.
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Nothing recent
No insider trades, pending-sale notices or 5% stake filings from CME in the last few months. That is the ordinary case, not a gap.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-11 | 2026-08-11 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-24 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from CME's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
6 of 7 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 2 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +16.6%
$3.60B to $4.19B
Improved: +52.7%
$2.89B to $4.42B
Changed: -11.2%
$94.0M to $83.5M
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 6.4% last year.
For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.17 in assets. Banks and insurers always carry high debt — that is how lending works — so this is normal for the industry and not comparable with other sectors.
Around average. Investors pay $24.8 for every $1 of yearly profit.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
At a glance
Reported annual figures
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-22 | 2026-07-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-17 | 2026-06-16 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-10 | 2026-06-09 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-19 | 2026-05-14 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-27 | 2026-04-22 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-24 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-22 | 2026-04-22 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-23 | 2025-12-31 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-26 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-04 | 2026-02-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-02 | 2026-02-02 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-24 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-22 | 2025-10-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-11 | 2025-09-09 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-25 | 2025-07-25 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-25 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-23 | 2025-07-23 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-09 | 2025-05-08 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
CME Group Sets New FX Open Interest Record
Yahoo Finance ·
CME Group (CME) Looks Fully Valued As Fed Rate Bets And New Futures Lift Focus
Yahoo Finance ·
CME Group (CME) Stock Trades At A Premium To Fair Value
Yahoo Finance ·
CME Group (CME) Hits Record Henry Hub Interest As August Volumes Stay Strong
Yahoo Finance ·
How Is CME Group's Stock Performance Compared to Other Financial Services Stocks
Yahoo Finance ·
CME Group Sets New Open Interest Record in Henry Hub Natural Gas Futures
Yahoo Finance ·
CME Group Reports Second-Highest August ADV of 29.7 Million Contracts
Yahoo Finance ·
CME Group Opens Registration for 23rd Annual Global University Trading Challenge
Yahoo Finance ·
Farmer sentiment rises again in August as future expectations improve
Yahoo Finance ·
Will CME’s New Factor and Wind Power Futures Suite Change CME Group’s (CME) Narrative?
Yahoo Finance ·
Fed Rate Hike Odds Fall to 50/50: Will Bitcoin's Rally Above 80,000 Hold?
Yahoo Finance ·
Bitcoin Climbs to Highest Intraday Level Since May as Risk Assets Get Boost From Waller’s Comments
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research