NYSE · Real Estate Investment Trusts · CIK 0000034903
$117.09
+0.29% · delayed 15 min
$10.10B market value
What this company does
FEDERAL REALTY INVESTMENT TRUST owns income-producing property as a REIT. It took in $1.28B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 32 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From FEDERAL REALTY INVESTMENT TRUST's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +6.4%
$1.20B to $1.28B
Improved: +39.2%
$295.2M to $411.1M
Improved: +7.6 pts
24.6% to 32.1%
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$411.1M earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$622.4M cash from operations
Nothing in the filings stands out as a concern.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 4.0% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 32 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $411.1M last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $411.1M and generated $622.4M of cash from operations.
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-11 | 2026-08-06 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-31 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from FRT's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
5 of 7 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 2 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: +10.4%
$4.50B to $4.96B
Deteriorated: -13.0%
$123.4M to $107.4M
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 6.4% last year.
For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.62 in assets. Banks and insurers always carry high debt — that is how lending works — so this is normal for the industry and not comparable with other sectors.
Around average. Investors pay $24.6 for every $1 of yearly profit.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
At a glance
Reported annual figures
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-31 | 2026-07-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-06 | 2026-05-06 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-01 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-01 | 2026-05-01 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-15 | 2026-04-14 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-27 | 2026-05-06 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-12 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-12 | 2026-02-12 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-20 | 2025-11-17 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-10 | 2025-11-07 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-31 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-31 | 2025-10-31 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-08-06 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-06 | 2025-08-06 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-09 | 2025-05-07 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-05-08 | 2025-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-08 | 2025-05-08 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-04-11 | 2025-04-10 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Do Wall Street Analysts Like Federal Realty Stock?
Yahoo Finance ·
Federal Realty Announces Pricing of $400 Million of Exchangeable Senior Notes
Yahoo Finance ·
4 Legendary REITs With Dividends Built to Weather Every Market Storm
Yahoo Finance ·
EPR vs. FRT: Which Stock Is the Better Value Option?
Yahoo Finance ·
Meet the Dividend King Stock That Yields Quadruple the S&P 500. Here's Why It's a Buy Now.
Yahoo Finance ·
Dividend Yield, Explained: Why I'm Holding High-Yield Stocks My Conviction Ratings Flag as "Strong Buys"
Yahoo Finance ·
Retail Concentration vs. Diversification: Is O Defensive Enough?
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Regency Worth Buying as Leasing Strength Meets Development Risk?
Yahoo Finance ·
SPG's Q2 FFO Top Estimates on Leasing Strength, Guidance Raised
Yahoo Finance ·
Is a Beat in Store for Simon Property Stock in Q2 Earnings?
Yahoo Finance ·
O Q2 AFFO Matches Estimates, Revenues Top on Active Capital Deployment
Yahoo Finance ·
Tanger Posts Higher Earnings, Raises Dividend as Open-Air Retail Momentum Builds
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research