Nasdaq · Cable & Other Pay Television Services · CIK 0001091667
$151.99
-1.06% · delayed 15 min
$20.54B market value
What this company does
CHARTER COMMUNICATIONS, /MO/ broadcasts television and radio. It took in $54.77B last year, which makes it a very large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 9 cents is left as profit.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score 0.22
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
Several areas of financial weakness.
From CHARTER COMMUNICATIONS, INC. /MO/'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +39.8%
$3.16B to $4.42B
Improved: -5.5%
143.1M to 135.2M
6 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$4.99B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$16.08B cash from operations
Sales are shrinking rather than growing.
down 0.6% on last year
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.39x cover on near-term bills
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z 0.22
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 9% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 24% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 9 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $4.99B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $4.99B and generated $16.08B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-31 | 2026-08-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-26 | 2026-08-24 |
Financial figures are from CHTR's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
6 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
0.22
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 7% and 11%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 17.0% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
No. Sales shrank 0.6% last year.
Manageable, but notable. Clearing its debt would take about 5.9 years of cash flow. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.12 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
On the cheaper side. Investors pay $4.1 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-24 | 2026-08-24 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-20 | 2026-08-14 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-18 | 2026-08-18 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-12 | 2026-08-12 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-03 | 2026-08-03 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-24 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-24 | 2026-07-24 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-23 | 2026-07-23 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-19 | 2026-05-15 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-24 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-24 | 2026-04-24 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-23 | 2026-04-21 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-12 | 2026-04-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-25 | 2026-02-24 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-01-30 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-30 | 2026-01-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-28 | 2026-01-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-22 | 2026-01-16 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Charter (CHTR) Stock Still Looks Undervalued After Its 82% Five Year Fall
Yahoo Finance ·
Charter Communications (CHTR) Could Be 50% Undervalued Following Its CFO Transition
Yahoo Finance ·
Charter to Participate in Citi Global TMT Conference
Yahoo Finance ·
Charter to Participate in Goldman Sachs Investor Conference
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Charter (CHTR) Stock Is Falling Today
Yahoo Finance ·
Charter Communications (CHTR) Strengthens Market Position Amid Fierce Competition
Yahoo Finance ·
CHARTER ANNOUNCES CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER TRANSITION
Yahoo Finance ·
Examining Charter Communications’ (CHTR) Roiling Waters and Hidden Opportunities
Yahoo Finance ·
Spectrum owner acquires 64-year-old rival as customers depart
Yahoo Finance ·
Could Charter Communications (CHTR)’s Cox Deal Give it an Edge Over Liberty Broadband Corporation (LBRDK)?
Yahoo Finance ·
CFOs On the Move: Week ending Sept. 4
Yahoo Finance ·
Stocks making big moves yesterday: Myriad Genetics, Greenbrier, Tidewater, Strategy, and Charter
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research