NEW YORK STOCK EXCHANGE, INC. · Retail · CIK 0000719955
$260.80
+2.95% · live
Updated
$30.98B market value
From WILLIAMS SONOMA INC's FY2026 10-K, filed Mar 26, 2026 · read the filing
WILLIAMS SONOMA sells furniture and home goods. It took in $7.81B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 14 cents is left as profit.
The financial picture is led by profitability, with growth and debt worth watching.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From WILLIAMS SONOMA INC's FY2026 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2026
Cash
$1.21B → $1.02B
Capital spending
$221.6M → $259.4M
Free cash flow
$1.14B → $1.06B
Shares in issue
123.1M → 118.8M
Measured against FY2025, from the 10-K filed Mar 26, 2026
Deteriorated: -15.9%
$1.21B to $1.02BSignificant
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Changed: +17.1%
$221.6M to $259.4MSignificant
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
How the latest move compares (quote live), and what was published around it
WSM rose 2.95% on the latest quote. The average Consumer Discretionary company tracked here moved +2.30%, and the S&P 500 −1.04%. That is 0.7 points above its sector and 4.0 points above the market.
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 10% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 12% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 14 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $1.09B last year.
Barely. Sales were roughly flat, up 1.2%.
Manageable. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.63 in assets.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 29 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 24% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2026 annual filing
Last year it earned $1.09B and generated $1.31B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
As reported to the SEC, in USD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY202610-K · Mar 26, 2026Filing for FY2026 | FY202510-K · Mar 26, 2026Filing for FY2025 | FY202410-K · Mar 26, 2026Filing for FY2024 | FY202310-K · Mar 24, 2023Filing for FY2023 | FY202210-K · Mar 28, 2022Filing for FY2022 | ChangeFY2026 vs FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueWhat is this? | $7.81B | $7.71B | $7.75B | $8.67B | $8.25B | +1.2% |
| Cost of revenue | $4.20B | $4.13B | $4.45B | — | — | +1.8% |
| Gross profit | $3.60B | $3.58B | $3.30B | $3.68B | $3.63B | +0.6% |
| Gross marginGross profit ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 46.2% | 46.5% | 42.6% | 42.4% | 44.0% | −0.3 pts |
| Selling, general and administrative | $2.19B | $2.15B | $2.06B | $2.18B | $2.18B | +1.6% |
| Operating income | $1.42B | $1.43B | $1.24B | $1.50B | $1.45B | −1.0% |
| Operating marginOperating income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 18.1% | 18.5% | 16.1% | 17.3% | 17.6% | −0.4 pts |
| Income before tax | $1.45B | $1.49B | $1.27B | $1.50B | $1.45B | −2.2% |
| Net income | $1.09B | $1.13B | $949.8M | $1.13B | $1.13B | −3.3% |
| Net marginNet income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 13.9% | 14.6% | 12.3% | 13.0% | 13.7% | −0.6 pts |
| Earnings per shareNet income ÷ shares outstanding at the period end — close to, but not the same as, the reported EPSWhat is this? | $9.16 | $9.14 | $7.40 | $17.03 | $15.65 | +0.3% |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Officers, directors and major shareholders must report within two business days of a trade.
Sold on the open market — 780 shares at $252.12 ($196.7K)
Holds 9,418 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 14 shares at $253.11 ($3.5K)
Holds 9,404 shares after this filing.
20 recent filings, newest first. Each is labelled from its form and item numbers, not from its wording.
Had a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q2 FY2026
Revenue +6.7% · Operating margin +5.0 pts · Earnings per share +41.2% — against Q2 FY2025
Read the filingWrite down why you are following WILLIAMS SONOMA INC, what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to a filing in the timeline, each linked to the document itself.
The 4 subsidiaries named in its 10-K, incorporated across 4 places. A filer lists the significant ones and may leave the rest out, so this is the floor rather than the full count.
Source: Exhibit 21 of the 10-K filed 2026-03-26. These are legal entities, not brands or acquisitions — a company that bought a business may hold it inside an entity named here, or inside one small enough that the rule does not require naming it at all.
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from WSM's 10-K for fiscal year 2026 (period ending 2026-02-01, filed Mar 26, 2026), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
3 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. Accounting had too few reported figures and is left out of the average rather than counted as a weakness, so a company is never marked down for a figure it did not publish. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 8 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Each year scored only from its annual report as it was first filed
| Fiscal year | Health | F-Score | Scored from |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2026 | 7.3 | 4/8 | 10-K, filed Mar 26, 2026 |
| FY2025 | 6.0 | 6/8 | 10-K, filed Mar 27, 2025 |
| FY2024 | 6.0 | 6/8 | 10-K, filed Mar 20, 2024 |
| FY2023 | 7.3 | 5/8 | 10-K, filed Mar 24, 2023 |
| FY2022 | 10.0 | 7/8 | 10-K, filed Mar 28, 2022 |
| FY2021 | 10.0 | 8/8 | 10-K, filed Mar 30, 2021 |
A later restatement never reaches back into an earlier year, and every year is scored without a share price, so the latest point can differ a little from the headline score, which uses today's price.
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
4 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
4.24
In the safe zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2026 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: -7.3%
$1.14B to $1.06BNotable
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
Improved: -3.5%
123.1M to 118.8MNotable
Why it matters: The company bought back stock, so each remaining holding owns slightly more of it. Worth checking it was not funded by borrowing.
Changed: +13.0%
$280.1M to $316.5MNotable
Why it matters: Cash handed to shareholders. A rise can be a higher dividend or simply more shares, and a cut is a decision the company explains in its own filing — neither is rated here.
Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025, from the 10-Q filed Aug 28, 2026 — read it.
Improved: +41.2%
$2.03 to $2.87Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +17.0%
$864.6M to $1.01BSignificant
Why it matters: What is left of sales after the direct cost of producing them. It normally moves with revenue, so a move out of step with revenue is the part worth noticing.
Improved: +36.8%
$328.1M to $448.8MSignificant
Why it matters: Profit from running the business, before interest and tax. Less exposed than profit to one-off financing and tax items, so a clearer read on the business itself.
Improved: +36.6%
$247.6M to $338.1MSignificant
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +4.6 pts
47.1% to 51.6%Significant
Why it matters: What survives each sale before overheads. Falling gross margin usually means the company is discounting or its input costs rose — it is the earliest place pricing pressure shows.
Improved: +5.0 pts
17.9% to 22.9%Significant
Why it matters: What survives each sale after running the business. A falling operating margin beside a steady gross margin points at overheads — wages, marketing, research — rather than pricing.
Improved: +3.8 pts
13.5% to 17.3%Significant
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: +6.7%
$1.84B to $1.96BNotable
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Improved: -3.3%
121.8M to 117.8MNotable
Why it matters: The company bought back stock, so each remaining holding owns slightly more of it. Worth checking it was not funded by borrowing.
Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026, from the 10-Q filed Aug 28, 2026 — read it. Quarter-to-quarter moves include seasonal swings — a retailer's holiday quarter — which the year-earlier comparison removes.
Improved: +53.9%
$291.7M to $448.8MCritical
Why it matters: Profit from running the business, before interest and tax. Less exposed than profit to one-off financing and tax items, so a clearer read on the business itself.
Improved: +46.1%
$231.4M to $338.1MCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +46.1%
$1.96 to $2.87Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +57.9%
$651.6M to $1.03BCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: +27.5%
$793.4M to $1.01BSignificant
Why it matters: What is left of sales after the direct cost of producing them. It normally moves with revenue, so a move out of step with revenue is the part worth noticing.
Improved: +7.7 pts
43.9% to 51.6%Significant
Why it matters: What survives each sale before overheads. Falling gross margin usually means the company is discounting or its input costs rose — it is the earliest place pricing pressure shows.
Improved: +6.7 pts
16.2% to 22.9%Significant
Why it matters: What survives each sale after running the business. A falling operating margin beside a steady gross margin points at overheads — wages, marketing, research — rather than pricing.
Improved: +4.4 pts
12.8% to 17.3%Significant
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: +8.5%
$1.81B to $1.96BNotable
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
8 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 8% and 12%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 4.6% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
The trailing P/E is 29.3x — investors pay $29.3 for each $1 of trailing profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Sold on the open market — 522 shares at $239.36 ($124.9K)
Holds 19,673 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 4,710 shares at $219.17 ($1.0M)
Holds 883,814 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 8,568 shares at $220.48 ($1.9M)
Holds 875,246 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 7,734 shares at $221.18 ($1.7M)
Holds 867,512 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 11,606 shares at $222.24 ($2.6M)
Holds 855,906 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 2,382 shares at $222.86 ($530.9K)
Holds 853,524 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 585 shares at $217.39 ($127.2K)
Holds 36,598 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 403 shares at $218.12 ($87.9K)
Holds 36,195 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 202 shares at $219.19 ($44.3K)
Holds 35,993 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 362 shares at $220.56 ($79.8K)
Holds 35,631 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 420 shares at $221.63 ($93.1K)
Holds 35,211 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 635 shares at $222.53 ($141.3K)
Holds 34,576 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 186 shares at $223.83 ($41.6K)
Holds 34,390 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 252 shares at $224.42 ($56.6K)
Holds 34,138 shares after this filing.
Exercised stock options — 6,984 shares
Holds 41,122 shares after this filing.
Had shares withheld to cover taxes — 3,939 shares at $226.23 ($891.1K)
Holds 37,183 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 522 shares at $246.39 ($128.6K)
Holds 20,195 shares after this filing.
Notice filed ahead of a planned sale — the sale itself has not necessarily happened yet.
Filed notice to sell 794 shares ($200.2K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via RSU.
Filed notice to sell 522 shares ($124.8K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Restricted Stock Units.
Filed notice to sell 35,000 shares ($7.7M) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via RSU.
Filed notice to sell 3,045 shares ($664.4K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Acquired as compensation -- Restricted Stock Units.
Filed notice to sell 21,024 shares ($4.9M) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Equity Compensation.
Filed notice to sell 522 shares ($128.9K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Restricted Stock Units.
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Published results
Held a shareholder vote
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2026
Free cash flow +62.5% · Cash -37.8% · Shares in issue -4.3% — against Q1 FY2025
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingProxy statement for a shareholder meeting
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2026
Cash -15.9% · Capital spending +17.1% · Free cash flow -7.3% — against FY2025
Read the filingPublished results · Reported another event
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q3 FY2025
Gross profit +6.1% · Cash +7.0% · Shares in issue -2.8% — against Q3 FY2024
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q2 FY2025
Operating margin +2.3 pts · Operating income +18.0% · Earnings per share +19.8% — against Q2 FY2024
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingSigned a material agreement · Took on a direct financial obligation
Read the filingHeld a shareholder vote
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2025
Operating margin −2.3 pts · Free cash flow -67.6% · Capital spending +47.4% — against Q1 FY2024
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingProxy statement for a shareholder meeting
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2025
Operating margin +2.5 pts · Profit +18.5% · Gross margin +3.8 pts — against FY2024
Read the filingPublished results · Reported another event
Read the filingCoverage from the last 30 days
Is Williams-Sonoma Stock's Winning Streak Skill Or Luck?
Yahoo Finance ·
Williams-Sonoma furnished a comeback — without homebuyers
Yahoo Finance ·
Williams-Sonoma (WSM) Outperforms Broader Market: What You Need to Know
Yahoo Finance ·
MARK & GRAHAM LAUNCHES COLLABORATION WITH NEW YORK CITY BALLET
Yahoo Finance ·
Williams-Sonoma, Inc. (WSM) is Attracting Investor Attention: Here is What You Should Know
Yahoo Finance ·
Four Reasons Wall Street Has Eyes On This S&P 500 Stock
Yahoo Finance ·
WILLIAMS-SONOMA, INC. APPOINTS LYNN MARTIN TO BOARD OF DIRECTORS
Yahoo Finance ·
Workers Are Getting a $10 Million 401(k) Windfall, but a Cash Bonus Could Put Social Security Checks at Risk
Yahoo Finance ·
1 Mid-Cap Stock Worth Your Attention and 2 That Underwhelm
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Williams-Sonoma’s (WSM) Popsmith Rollout Quietly Redefining Its Margin and Digital Scale Story?
Yahoo Finance ·
POTTERY BARN LAUNCHES NEW COLLABORATION WITH ASHLEY STARK
Yahoo Finance ·
Williams-Sonoma (WSM) Exceeds Market Returns: Some Facts to Consider
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research