NYSE · Refuse Systems · CIK 0001318220
$164.87
-0.64% · delayed 15 min
$42.14B market value
What this company does
Waste Connections handles waste and environmental services. It took in $9.47B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 11 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From Waste Connections, Inc.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +6.1%
$8.92B to $9.47B
Improved: +74.3%
$617.6M to $1.08B
Improved: +4.5 pts
6.9% to 11.4%
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$1.08B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$2.41B cash from operations
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.62x cover on near-term bills
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 13% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 13% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 11 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $1.08B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 31 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 14% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodFigures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $1.08B and generated $2.41B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Nothing recent
No insider trades, pending-sale notices or 5% stake filings from WCN in the last few months. That is the ordinary case, not a gap.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-07 | 2026-08-07 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-04 | 2026-08-04 |
Financial figures are from WCN's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
6 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
1.77
In the grey zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +5.3%
$1.17B to $1.23B
Deteriorated: -26.3%
$62.4M to $46.0M
Changed: +11.7%
$1.06B to $1.18B
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 10% and 15%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.4% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 6.1% last year.
Manageable. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.64 in assets.
Expensive. Investors pay $39.1 for every $1 of yearly profit, so a lot of future growth is already priced in.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-28 | 2026-07-27 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-23 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-22 | 2026-07-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-15 | 2026-05-15 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-23 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-22 | 2026-04-22 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-04-02 | 2026-05-15 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-18 | 2026-03-18 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-16 | 2026-03-16 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-06 | 2026-03-05 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-12 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-11 | 2026-02-11 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-22 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-21 | 2025-10-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-05 | 2025-07-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-30 | 2025-07-24 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-24 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-23 | 2025-07-23 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
WCN Shares Rise 8.6% in 3 Months: Here's What You Should Know
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Waste Connections (NYSE:WCN) Undervalued Even With Pricey Earnings?
Yahoo Finance ·
Insider Transaction: Waste Connections Senior VP Sells 1,750 Shares for $290,500
Yahoo Finance ·
Here's Why Investors Must Hold WCN Stock in Their Portfolios Now
Yahoo Finance ·
Waste Connections Renews Normal Course Issuer Bid for Share Repurchases
Yahoo Finance ·
Waste Connections sues LA County for $825M over Chiquita Canyon closure
Yahoo Finance ·
Waste Connections (WCN) Prices Senior Notes As Investors Ask If The Stock Is Fully Valued
Yahoo Finance ·
3 of Wall Street’s Favorite Stocks We Find Risky
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Is Waste Connections (WCN) Up 0.2% Since Last Earnings Report?
Yahoo Finance ·
Is CLH Worth Buying as Growth Accelerates but Valuation Stays Rich?
Yahoo Finance ·
CLH Gains 13.3% in 3 Months as Earnings and Growth Drivers Strengthen
Yahoo Finance ·
RSG Raises 2026 Outlook as Pricing Strength Offsets Softer Volumes
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research