NYSE · Crude Petroleum & Natural Gas · CIK 0001293135
$12.84
+3.05% · delayed 15 min
$1.96B market value
What this company does
VERMILION ENERGY drills for oil and natural gas. It took in $1.28B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. It spends more than it earns — losing about 37 cents on every dollar of sales.
Financial health
Several areas of financial weakness.
From VERMILION ENERGY INC.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 40-F
Improved: +14.1%
$1.12B to $1.28B
Deteriorated: $439.1M wider
-$33.8M to -$472.9M
Deteriorated: −34.0 pts
-3.0% to -37.0%
Nothing in the filings stands out as a clear strength.
It loses money, so it depends on cash reserves or new funding to keep going.
$472.9M lost last year
It keeps less of each sale as profit than it did a year ago.
-3.0% → -37.0%
It fails most of the standard checks of financial strength.
Piotroski 1/3
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 6.5% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
No. It lost $472.9M last year, losing about 37 cents on every dollar of sales.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-07-30 | 2026-07-29 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-07-30 |
Financial figures are from VET's 40-F for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the IFRS taxonomy. Reported in CAD and shown here in USD, the currency VET trades in, converted at today's rate of 0.7236. The filing itself is in CAD.
1 of 3 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 6 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Deteriorated: +29.1%
$697.1M to $899.7M
Deteriorated: -85.5%
$95.3M to $13.8M
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 14.1% last year.
This company has not reported enough detail to tell.
It has no profits to compare a price against, because it lost money last year.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| 2026-07-29 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-07-30 | 2026-07-29 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-07-09 | 2026-07-08 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-07 | 2026-05-07 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-07 | 2026-05-07 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-06 | 2026-03-31 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-06 | 2026-05-06 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-06 | 2026-05-06 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-04-08 | 2026-04-07 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-04-02 | 2026-04-02 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-03-05 | 2026-03-04 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-03-05 | 2026-03-04 |
| Annual report (Canadian company)(40-F) | 2026-03-04 | 2025-12-31 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-02-26 | 2026-02-25 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-12-18 | 2025-12-17 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-12-10 | 2025-12-10 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-12-09 | 2025-12-08 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-11-28 | 2025-11-26 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-11-07 | 2025-09-30 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Vermilion Energy Inc. Reports Q2 2026 Results, Increases Annual Production Guidance and Enhances Return of Capital Framework
Yahoo Finance ·
Vermilion Energy Inc. Announces $0.135 CDN Cash Dividend for September 29, 2026 Payment Date
Yahoo Finance ·
Vermilion Energy Inc. Announces TSX Approval for Renewal of Normal Course Issuer Bid and Confirms Q2 2026 Release Date and Conference Call Details
Yahoo Finance ·
Here's Why We're Wary Of Buying Vermilion Energy's (TSE:VET) For Its Upcoming Dividend
Yahoo Finance ·
'The G-shaped economy': A market vet says the driving economic force in the US is old vs young
Yahoo Finance ·
The venture world is chasing mega-rounds. This investor is chasing startups that the big firms miss.
Yahoo Finance ·
Vermilion Energy Q2 Earnings Call Highlights
Yahoo Finance ·
Vermilion Energy Inc (VET) (Q2 2026) Earnings Call Highlights: Record Production and Strong ...
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research