NYSE · Railroads, Line-Haul Operating · CIK 0000100885
$289.62
-5.79% · delayed 15 min
$171.82B market value
What this company does
UNION PACIFIC runs railways and local transport. It took in $24.51B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 29 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From UNION PACIFIC CORP's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +5.8%
$6.75B to $7.14B
Improved: +1.3 pts
27.8% to 29.1%
Deteriorated: -6.7%
$5.89B to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$7.14B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$9.29B cash from operations
It passes almost every standard check of financial strength.
Piotroski 7/8
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it well clear of distress.
Altman Z 4.54
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.91x cover on near-term bills
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 14% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 7% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 29 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $7.14B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 45 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 35% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $7.14B and generated $9.29B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-23 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-23 | 2026-07-23 |
Financial figures are from UNP's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
7 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
4.54
In the safe zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +24.6%
$1.02B to $1.27B
Improved: -1.8%
604.2M to 593.2M
Changed: +9.8%
$3.45B to $3.79B
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 11% and 16%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 4.4% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Barely. Sales were roughly flat, up 1.1%.
Manageable, but notable. Clearing its debt would take about 3.3 years of cash flow. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.36 in assets.
Around average. Investors pay $24.1 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-18 | 2026-05-14 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-23 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-23 | 2026-04-23 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-25 | 2026-05-14 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-06 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-27 | 2026-01-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-19 | 2025-12-19 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-12 | 2025-12-12 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-17 | 2025-11-14 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-06 | 2025-11-06 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-23 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-23 | 2025-10-23 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-10 | 2025-09-10 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-29 | 2025-07-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-29 | 2025-07-28 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-24 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-24 | 2025-07-24 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-24 | 2025-07-24 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
102 Dems to STB: Put labor first in UP-NS rail merger review
Yahoo Finance ·
Union Pacific (UNP) Merger Review Deadline Was Extended, Is The Stock Still 12% Below Fair Value?
Yahoo Finance ·
Union Pacific (UNP) Stock Looks About Fairly Valued Today
Yahoo Finance ·
Union Pacific Sees Norfolk Southern Merger Closing by Late 2027 as STB Review Advances
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Union Pacific Stock Outperforming the S&P 500?
Yahoo Finance ·
Union Pacific Corp's Dividend Analysis
Yahoo Finance ·
Union Pacific (UNP) is Winning the Railroad Race. Can Norfolk Southern (NSC) Catch Up through the Merger?
Yahoo Finance ·
Are Options Traders Betting on a Big Move in Union Pacific Stock?
Yahoo Finance ·
Blue Moon Acquires Strategic Water Rights and Land Package for Springer
Yahoo Finance ·
How El Niño Could Disrupt Global Shipping
Yahoo Finance ·
Is A.P. Moller-Maersk (AMKBY) Stock Outpacing Its Transportation Peers This Year?
Yahoo Finance ·
Berkshire CEO Abel to Make Rare TV Appearance. What He Might Talk About.
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research