NYSE · Services-Prepackaged Software · CIK 0001810806
$41.66
-3.81% · delayed 15 min
$18.03B market value
What this company does
Unity Software makes and sells software and computing services. It took in $1.85B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. It spends more than it earns — losing about 22 cents on every dollar of sales.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score -0.19
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
Several areas of financial weakness.
From Unity Software Inc.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: $261.3M narrower
-$664.1M to -$402.8M
Improved: +14.8 pts
-36.6% to -21.8%
Improved: +41.2%
$286.0M to
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$423.0M cash from operations
It loses money, so it depends on cash reserves or new funding to keep going.
$402.8M lost last year
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z -0.19
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 15% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 2 years it grew by about 50% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
No. It lost $402.8M last year, losing about 22 cents on every dollar of sales.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it lost $402.8M and generated $423.0M of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Nothing recent
No insider trades, pending-sale notices or 5% stake filings from U in the last few months. That is the ordinary case, not a gap.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-19 | 2026-08-17 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-06 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from U's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
5 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
-0.19
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +35.5%
$1.52B to $2.06B
Deteriorated: +5.7%
409.4M to 432.9M
Changed: -35.6%
$29.5M to $19.0M
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 12% and 17%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 7.2% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Barely. Sales were roughly flat, up 2.0%.
It does not appear so. For every $1 it owes, it owns $2.05 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
It has no profits to compare a price against, because it lost money last year.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-06 | 2026-08-06 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-27 | 2026-07-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-16 | 2026-07-13 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-14 | 2026-05-13 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-07 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-07 | 2026-05-07 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-27 | 2026-05-13 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-26 | 2026-03-26 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-11 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-11 | 2026-02-11 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-10 | 2026-02-09 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-10 | 2026-02-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-12 | 2025-11-06 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-11-05 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-05 | 2025-11-05 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-08-06 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-06 | 2025-08-06 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-06-13 | 2025-06-11 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
1 Stock Under $50 to Target This Week and 2 We Find Risky
Yahoo Finance ·
Unity Software CFO Jarrod Yahes Sells 26,017 Shares for $1.2 Million
Yahoo Finance ·
Unity Software COO Alexander Blum Sells 22,559 Shares for $1 Million
Yahoo Finance ·
Unity Software CEO Sells Over 16,000 Shares Amid a Rising Stock Price
Yahoo Finance ·
Does Rising Analyst Optimism Around Earnings Revisions Deepen the AI-Led Bull Case for Unity (U)?
Yahoo Finance ·
Wall Street Bulls Look Optimistic About Unity Software (U): Should You Buy?
Yahoo Finance ·
The Wild Swings of Earnings Season Continue
Yahoo Finance ·
What Makes Unity Software Inc. (U) a Strong Momentum Stock: Buy Now?
Yahoo Finance ·
Zacks Investment Ideas feature highlights: Palantir, Match Group and Unity Software
Yahoo Finance ·
Is AppLovin Stock Priced For A Sharper Slowdown Than Management Guides To?
Yahoo Finance ·
How Much Upside Can APP Stock's Growth Deliver?
Yahoo Finance ·
Can AppLovin's 53% Revenue Surge Keep Its Growth Streak Alive?
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research