NYSE · Poultry Slaughtering and Processing · CIK 0000100493
$51.42
-7.18% · delayed 15 min
$18.36B market value
What this company does
TYSON FOODS makes food and drink. It took in $54.44B last year, which makes it a very large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 1 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From TYSON FOODS, INC.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Deteriorated: -40.8%
$800.0M to $474.0M
Deteriorated: -19.3%
$1.46B to $1.18B
Deteriorated: -28.4%
$1.72B to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$474.0M earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$2.15B cash from operations
It holds more cash than debt, so borrowings are not a pressure.
$320.0M more cash than debt
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it well clear of distress.
Altman Z 3.00
Nothing in the filings stands out as a concern.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 2% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it shrank by about 4% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 1 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $474.0M last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It paid out more than it earned — 147 cents for every dollar of profit. A payment above earnings has to be funded from somewhere else, so it is worth checking whether that can continue. It paid out 32% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
WeakNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $474.0M and generated $2.15B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-09-03 | 2026-09-03 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-24 | 2026-08-24 |
Financial figures are from TSN's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-09-27), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
5 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
3.00
In the safe zone
For this model, above 2.99 is safe and below 1.81 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Changed: -13.6%
$1.13B to $978.0M
4 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between -0% and 4%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 2.1% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Barely. Sales were roughly flat, up 2.1%.
No — it holds more cash than debt, with $320.0M left over after paying off every borrowing. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.97 in assets.
Expensive. Investors pay $38.7 for every $1 of yearly profit, so a lot of future growth is already priced in.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-24 | 2026-08-24 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-13 | 2026-08-13 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-11 | 2026-08-10 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-10 | 2026-08-10 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-03 | 2026-06-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-03 | 2026-08-03 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-18 | 2026-06-18 |
| Major event announcement (amended)(8-K/A) | 2026-06-17 | 2026-06-08 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-09 | 2026-06-09 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-08 | 2026-06-08 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-28 | 2026-05-28 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-04 | 2026-03-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-04 | 2026-05-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-02 | 2026-04-02 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-20 | 2026-02-20 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-11 | 2026-02-10 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-09 | 2026-02-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-02 | 2026-02-02 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Tyson Foods (TSN) Stock Looks Cheap Following Its Lowered 2026 Outlook
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Tyson Foods (TSN) Undervalued After Cutting Outlook And Closing Beef Plants?
Yahoo Finance ·
2 Mid-Cap Stocks to Keep an Eye On and 1 We Avoid
Yahoo Finance ·
Tyson issues another profit warning
Yahoo Finance ·
Bunge Global and Nature's Sunshine Shares Are Falling, What You Need To Know
Yahoo Finance ·
Lamb Weston, Kraft Heinz, Darling Ingredients, The Marzetti Company, and Pilgrim's Pride Shares Plummet, What You Need To Know
Yahoo Finance ·
Tyson Foods, MGP Ingredients, Conagra, Flowers Foods, and General Mills Shares Are Falling, What You Need To Know
Yahoo Finance ·
Tyson Foods cuts fiscal 2026 profit forecast again on beef losses
Yahoo Finance ·
Tyson Foods Revises 2026 Outlook Due to ‘Beef Pressures,’ And Stock Takes a Hit
Yahoo Finance ·
What Does Hormel Foods (HRL) Naming A New CFO Mean For Investors?
Yahoo Finance ·
Campbell Cuts Dividend, Tyson Slashes Outlook as Food Stocks Get Crushed
Yahoo Finance ·
3 Ways to Play Unusual Options Activity in Kraft Heinz (KHC) Stock
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research