NYSE · Measuring & Controlling Devices, NEC · CIK 0000097745
$613.78
-1.35% · delayed 15 min
$231.56B market value
What this company does
THERMO FISHER SCIENTIFIC makes measuring and control instruments. It took in $44.56B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 15 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From THERMO FISHER SCIENTIFIC INC.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +5.8%
$6.33B to $6.70B
Deteriorated: -13.4%
$7.27B to $6.29B
Deteriorated: +26.1%
$31.07B
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$6.70B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$7.82B cash from operations
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it well clear of distress.
Altman Z 3.97
Nothing in the filings stands out as a concern.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 15% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 10% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 15 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $6.70B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 9 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 8% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $6.70B and generated $7.82B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-31 | 2026-06-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-23 | 2026-07-23 |
Financial figures are from TMO's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
6 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
3.97
In the safe zone
For this model, above 2.99 is safe and below 1.81 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +145.7%
$4.01B to $9.85B
Improved: -1.1%
381.3M to 377.3M
Changed: +8.9%
$1.40B to $1.52B
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 13% and 18%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.3% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 3.9% last year.
Manageable, but notable. Clearing its debt would take about 4.2 years of cash flow. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.94 in assets.
Expensive. Investors pay $34.5 for every $1 of yearly profit, so a lot of future growth is already priced in.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-26 | 2026-05-20 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-01 | 2026-03-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-23 | 2026-04-23 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-04-07 | 2026-05-20 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-24 | 2026-03-24 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-26 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-12 | 2026-02-09 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-29 | 2026-01-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-12 | 2026-01-12 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-01 | 2025-11-24 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-31 | 2025-09-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-29 | 2025-10-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-22 | 2025-10-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-07 | 2025-10-07 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-02 | 2025-09-01 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-08-01 | 2025-06-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-23 | 2025-07-23 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-23 | 2025-07-23 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Veterinary Diagnostic Markets Report Now Available — See Exactly How IDEXX, Zoetis, Antech, Roche, and Thermo Fisher Are Positioned to Win Through 2030
Yahoo Finance ·
Should You Continue to Hold TMO Stock in Your Portfolio?
Yahoo Finance ·
1 Healthcare Stock for Long-Term Investors and 2 We Ignore
Yahoo Finance ·
‘Corporate America Is Basically Exterminating Your Career.” Clark Howard’s Sounds Alarm For Americans In Their 50s, Who Want To Work Till 65
Yahoo Finance ·
Global Multiplex Assays Market 2026 Edition - Consumables Dominate Multiplex Assays with 68% Market Share
Yahoo Finance ·
Here Are Thursday’s Top Wall Street Analyst Research Calls: Broadcom, Deere & Company, Dell Technologies, Devon Energy, Moderna, Permian Resources, PG&E, Thermo Fisher, Viper Energy, and More
Yahoo Finance ·
PACB Cuts 2026 Outlook as Clinical Adoption Faces Its Crucial Test
Yahoo Finance ·
Here's Why You Should Add Merit Medical Stock to Your Portfolio Now
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Is CRISPR Therapeutics (CRSP) Up 7.1% Since Last Earnings Report?
Yahoo Finance ·
GEHC Wins CE Mark for Photonova Spectra, Expands International Reach
Yahoo Finance ·
Is This the Right Time to Add PBH Stock to Your Portfolio?
Yahoo Finance ·
MBody AI Orchestrator Named Finalist for AI Deployment of the Year
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research