Nasdaq · Services-Prepackaged Software · CIK 0001594805
$145.09
-5.11% · delayed 15 min
$188.47B market value
What this company does
SHOPIFY makes and sells software and computing services. It took in $11.56B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 11 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Strong finances across the board.
From SHOPIFY INC.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +30.1%
$8.88B to $11.56B
Deteriorated: -39.0%
$2.02B to $1.23B
Deteriorated: −2.3 pts
50.4% to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$1.23B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$2.03B cash from operations
Sales are growing quickly.
up 30.1% on last year
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it well clear of distress.
Altman Z 12.49
It keeps less of each sale as profit than it did a year ago.
22.7% → 10.7%
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 26% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 6 years it grew by about 129% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 11 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $1.23B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $1.23B and generated $2.03B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Notice filed ahead of a planned sale — the sale itself has not necessarily happened yet.
Filed notice to sell 24,000 shares ($3.5M) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Vesting of RSUs.
Filed notice to sell 10,394 shares ($1.6M) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Restricted Stock Vesting Under a Registered Plan.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-05 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-05 | 2026-08-05 |
Financial figures are from SHOP's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
6 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
12.49
In the safe zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: −12.1 pts
22.7% to 10.7%
Improved: +25.7%
$1.60B to $2.01B
Changed: +36.8%
$19.0M to $26.0M
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 23% and 29%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.2% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Yes, quickly. Sales grew 30.1% last year.
It does not appear so. For every $1 it owes, it owns $8.85 in assets.
Expensive. Investors pay $153.1 for every $1 of yearly profit, so a lot of future growth is already priced in.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
Filed notice to sell 4,000 shares ($589.8K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Exercise of Options.
Filed notice to sell 3,450 shares ($425.4K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Vesting of RSUs.
Filed notice to sell 7,650 shares ($943.2K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Exercise of Options.
Filed notice to sell 5,000 shares ($634.4K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Exercise of Options.
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
| Major event announcement(8-K) |
| 2026-07-02 |
| 2026-07-02 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-16 | 2026-06-16 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-02 | 2026-06-02 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-08 | 2026-05-08 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-05 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-05 | 2026-05-05 |
| Annual report (amended)(10-K/A) | 2026-04-29 | 2025-12-31 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-11 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-11 | 2026-02-11 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-02 | 2025-12-02 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-11-04 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-04 | 2025-11-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-09 | 2025-10-09 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-10 | 2025-09-09 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-08-06 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-06 | 2025-08-06 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-06-18 | 2025-06-17 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-05-08 | 2025-03-31 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Alibaba vs. Shopify: Which Retail Platform Is a Better Buy in 2026?
Yahoo Finance ·
Airbnb vs. Shopify: Which Consumer Stock Is a Better Buy in 2026?
Yahoo Finance ·
Where Will Shopify Stock Be in 5 Years?
Yahoo Finance ·
She Runs a $185 Billion Company. Here’s the Exact Type of Person She Is Looking to Hire.
Yahoo Finance ·
Shopify (SHOP) Down 1.1% Since Last Earnings Report: Can It Rebound?
Yahoo Finance ·
Ecommerce Evolution: Shopify’s (SHOP) AI-Driven Approach to Retail Success
Yahoo Finance ·
Shopify (SHOP) Stock Looks Above Fair Value On Cash Flow And Earnings
Yahoo Finance ·
Appian, C3.ai, Palo Alto Networks, Rapid7, and Shopify Shares Are Falling, What You Need To Know
Yahoo Finance ·
This guy built a $30k MRR app in one day with Claude Code. Here's the tools he uses.
Yahoo Finance ·
Cathie Wood Dumps $25 Million of Palantir Shares. Should PLTR Investors Worry?
Yahoo Finance ·
Purpose Investments Announces Changes to Certain Investment Funds
Yahoo Finance ·
How to build a brand newsletter in 2026
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research