NYSE · Petroleum Refining · CIK 0001534701
$255.09
+4.54% · delayed 15 min
$104.00B market value
What this company does
Phillips 66 refines oil into fuel and related products. It took in $132.38B last year, which makes it a very large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 3 cents is left as profit.
Recent open-market selling by 5 insiders, not under a pre-arranged plan.
$25.9M sold in the last 120 days · Read the filing
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From Phillips 66's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Deteriorated: -7.5%
$143.15B to $132.38B
Improved: +108.0%
$2.12B to $4.40B
Improved: +3.1 pts
9.2% to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$4.40B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$4.96B cash from operations
It holds more cash than debt, so borrowings are not a pressure.
$78.0M more cash than debt
It passes almost every standard check of financial strength.
Piotroski 7/8
Sales are shrinking rather than growing.
down 7.5% on last year
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.2% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 3 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $4.40B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 44 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 39% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $4.40B and generated $4.96B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Officers, directors and major shareholders must report within two business days of a trade.
Exercised stock options — 13,500 shares at $74.70 ($1.0M)
Holds 52,594 shares after this filing.
Exercised stock options — 14,800 shares at $89.05 ($1.3M)
Holds 67,394 shares after this filing.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-21 | 2026-08-20 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-05 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from PSX's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
7 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +1.8 pts
1.5% to 3.3%
Deteriorated: -35.8%
$1.74B to $1.12B
Improved: -4.7%
427.8M to 407.7M
Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
No. Sales shrank 7.5% last year.
No — it holds more cash than debt, with $78.0M left over after paying off every borrowing. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.70 in assets.
Around average. Investors pay $23.6 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
Exercised stock options — 23,800 shares at $100.44 ($2.4M)
Holds 91,194 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 52,100 shares at $223.76 ($11.7M)
Holds 39,094 shares after this filing.
Exercised stock options — 3,300 shares at $74.70 ($246.5K)
Holds 64,895 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 3,300 shares at $214.02 ($706.3K)
Holds 61,595 shares after this filing.
Exercised stock options — 30,000 shares at $74.70 ($2.2M)
Holds 91,595 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 30,000 shares at $215.00 ($6.5M)
Holds 61,595 shares after this filing.
Exercised stock options — 1,800 shares at $100.44 ($180.8K)
Holds 27,201 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 1,800 shares at $205.00 ($369.0K)
Holds 25,401 shares after this filing.
Exercised stock options — 2,100 shares at $100.44 ($210.9K)
Holds 27,501 shares after this filing.
Exercised stock options — 3,934 shares at $89.05 ($350.3K)
Holds 31,435 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 2,100 shares at $210.63 ($442.3K)
Holds 29,335 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 1,967 shares at $212.00 ($417.0K)
Holds 27,368 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 1,967 shares at $215.00 ($422.9K)
Holds 25,401 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 1,000 shares at $207.21 ($207.2K)
Holds 6,267 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 200 shares at $208.37 ($41.7K)
Holds 6,067 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 315 shares at $208.99 ($65.8K)
Holds 5,752 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 563 shares at $211.01 ($118.8K)
Holds 31,060 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 3,523 shares at $2.1M ($7.44B)
Holds 27,537 shares after this filing.
Exercised stock options — 11,021 shares at $94.97 ($1.0M)
Holds 108,397 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 11,021 shares at $190.03 ($2.1M)
Holds 97,376 shares after this filing.
Exercised stock options — 5,400 shares at $94.85 ($512.2K)
Holds 102,776 shares after this filing.
Exercised stock options — 24,000 shares at $94.97 ($2.3M)
Holds 126,776 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 29,400 shares at $170.00 ($5.0M)
Holds 97,376 shares after this filing.
Exercised stock options — 600 shares at $94.97 ($57.0K)
Holds 97,976 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 600 shares at $171.56 ($102.9K)
Holds 97,376 shares after this filing.
Notice filed ahead of a planned sale — the sale itself has not necessarily happened yet.
Filed notice to sell 52,100 shares ($11.7M) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Stock Option.
Filed notice to sell 3,300 shares ($706.3K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Stock Option.
Filed notice to sell 30,000 shares ($6.5M) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Stock Option.
Filed notice to sell 6,034 shares ($1.3M) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Stock Option.
Filed notice to sell 1,515 shares ($314.7K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Restricted Stock Vesting Under a Registered Plan.
Filed notice to sell 1,800 shares ($368.9K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Stock Option.
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
| Major event announcement(8-K) |
| 2026-08-05 |
| 2026-08-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-14 | 2026-05-13 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-29 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-29 | 2026-04-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-06 | 2026-04-06 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-04-02 | 2026-05-13 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-18 | 2026-03-13 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-09 | 2026-03-06 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-20 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-04 | 2026-02-04 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-29 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-29 | 2025-10-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-30 | 2025-09-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-18 | 2025-09-16 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-09 | 2025-09-09 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-06 | 2025-07-30 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-28 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-25 | 2025-07-25 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Wells Fargo Just Raised its Bets on These 2 Refining Giants
Yahoo Finance ·
How Is Phillips 66's Stock Performance Compared to Other Oil Refiners Stocks?
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Is Phillips 66 (PSX) Up 23.9% Since Last Earnings Report?
Yahoo Finance ·
Phillips 66, Target, and Wells Fargo Just Paid Shareholders. Here’s What They Got.
Yahoo Finance ·
Phillips 66 (PSX) Nears Cost Target, Is The Upside Already Priced In?
Yahoo Finance ·
Phillips 66: Refining Upside Backed by Stable Midstream Operations
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Phillips 66 (PSX) Still a Buy After its Massive 2026 Rally?
Yahoo Finance ·
Cenovus vs. Phillips 66: Which Energy Stock Is the Better Buy?
Yahoo Finance ·
Can Phillips 66, Marathon, or Valero Afford Delek US Holdings Now?
Yahoo Finance ·
PBF Energy Rises 168% in a Year: Is This the Right Time to Buy?
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Marathon Petroleum Stock Still a Buy After More Than Doubling YTD?
Yahoo Finance ·
Can Par Pacific's Stronger Balance Sheet Fuel Its Next Growth Phase?
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research