NYSE · Paints, Varnishes, Lacquers, Enamels & Allied Prods · CIK 0000079879
$112.53
-1.48% · delayed 15 min
$25.14B market value
What this company does
PPG INDUSTRIES makes paints, coatings and speciality chemicals. It took in $15.88B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 10 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Strong finances across the board.
From PPG INDUSTRIES INC's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +41.2%
$1.12B to $1.58B
Improved: +2.9 pts
7.0% to 9.9%
Improved: +66.4%
$699.0M to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$1.58B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$1.94B cash from operations
Nothing in the filings stands out as a concern.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 9% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it shrank by about 2% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 10 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $1.58B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 40 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 32% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $1.58B and generated $1.94B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-29 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-28 | 2026-07-28 |
Financial figures are from PPG's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
6 of 9 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
-2.47
Below the threshold — nothing unusual flagged
Scores above -1.78 are the ones the model associates with earnings manipulation.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: +35.4%
$4.88B to $6.60B
Improved: +70.3%
$1.27B to $2.16B
Improved: -2.8%
229.9M to 223.4M
Changed: +7.9%
$721.0M to $778.0M
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 7% and 11%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 2.3% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Barely. Sales were roughly flat, up 0.2%.
No. At its current cash flow it could clear its debt in about 2.6 years. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.58 in assets.
Around average. Investors pay $16.0 for every $1 of yearly profit.
Nothing unusual. Its accounting patterns look like those of companies that report earnings straightforwardly.
At a glance
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-29 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-28 | 2026-04-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-28 | 2026-04-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-21 | 2026-04-15 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-15 | 2026-04-15 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-05 | 2026-04-16 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-19 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-27 | 2026-01-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-11 | 2025-12-11 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-01 | 2025-11-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-03 | 2025-10-30 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-29 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-28 | 2025-10-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-11 | 2025-08-07 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-30 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-29 | 2025-07-29 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-04-30 | 2025-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-04-29 | 2025-04-29 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
PPG Industries' ONE RANGE Portfolio Simplifies Marine Maintenance
Yahoo Finance ·
PPG Industries (PPG) Could Be a Great Choice
Yahoo Finance ·
Here's Why You Should Hold PPG Industries Stock for Now
Yahoo Finance ·
PPG Industries (PPG) Stock Looks Reasonable On Earnings While Returns Stay Weak
Yahoo Finance ·
Is PPG Industries (PPG) Cheap As New Marine Coatings Refocus Attention On Valuation?
Yahoo Finance ·
PPG introduces PPG ONE RANGE portfolio for onboard maintenance
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Wall Street Bullish or Bearish on PPG Industries Stock?
Yahoo Finance ·
PPG appoints leaders of global business segments to accelerate growth and productivity
Yahoo Finance ·
PPG Industries (PPG) is an Underrated Dividend Stock Worth a Closer Look
Yahoo Finance ·
PPG Industries Inc's Dividend Analysis
Yahoo Finance ·
Industrial Coatings Market to Reach USD 148.60 billion by 2031, Growing at a CAGR of 4.21% — MarketsandMarkets™
Yahoo Finance ·
PPG invests $280M in Ohio plant expansion, adding 100 jobs
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research