NYSE · Electric Services · CIK 0000764622
$97.52
-0.12% · delayed 15 min
$11.61B market value
What this company does
PINNACLE WEST CAPITAL supplies electricity, gas or water. It took in $5.34B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 12 cents is left as profit.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score 0.66
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From PINNACLE WEST CAPITAL CORP's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Deteriorated: $180.2M wider
-$639.4M to -$819.5M
Deteriorated: +14.2%
$8.06B to $9.21B
Improved: +72.1%
$3.8M
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$631.6M earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$1.81B cash from operations
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.54x cover on near-term bills
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z 0.66
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 6.9% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 12 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $631.6M last year. Note that after $2.62B of spending on property and equipment, it consumed $819.5M more cash than it generated.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 67 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 23% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $631.6M and generated $1.81B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-09-04 | 2026-09-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-13 | 2026-08-10 |
Financial figures are from PNW's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
5 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
0.66
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: +5.0%
113.4M to 119.1M
Changed: +16.7%
$2.25B to $2.62B
3 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 4.2% last year.
Manageable, but notable. Clearing its debt would take about 5.4 years of cash flow. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.31 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
Around average. Investors pay $18.4 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-07 | 2026-08-07 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-04 | 2026-08-04 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-04 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-04 | 2026-08-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-29 | 2026-06-23 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-08 | 2026-06-08 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-05 | 2026-06-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-05 | 2026-06-01 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-19 | 2026-05-14 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-06 | 2026-05-06 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-04 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-04 | 2026-05-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-15 | 2026-04-15 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-04-03 | 2026-05-14 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-12 | 2026-03-10 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-27 | 2026-02-27 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-25 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-25 | 2026-02-25 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Could Pinnacle West Capital (PNW) Stock Be a Hidden Way to Bet on Arizona’s Explosive Growth?
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Pinnacle West Capital (PNW) Still Worth A Look Following Mixed Fair Value Signals?
Yahoo Finance ·
Zacks.com featured highlights Super Micro Computer, State Street and Pinnacle West Capital
Yahoo Finance ·
Pinnacle West Capital Stock: Analyst Estimates & Ratings
Yahoo Finance ·
Pinnacle West Capital (PNW) Q2 2026 Earnings Call Transcript
Yahoo Finance ·
Pinnacle West Capital Q2 Earnings Call Highlights
Yahoo Finance ·
3 Stocks With Sustainable Sales Growth Worth Buying Now
Yahoo Finance ·
Pinnacle West Reports Lower 2026 Second-Quarter Financial Results Compared to a Year Ago
Yahoo Finance ·
3 Wind Energy Stocks Worth Adding to Your Portfolio Right Now
Yahoo Finance ·
Has MDU Resources Group (MDU) Outpaced Other Utilities Stocks This Year?
Yahoo Finance ·
Will PNW's Cost-Control Efforts Support Long-Term Earnings Growth?
Yahoo Finance ·
Pinnacle West Capital Corporation Q2 2026 Earnings Call Summary
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research