NYSE · Cigarettes · CIK 0001413329
$182.53
-4.88% · delayed 15 min
$283.81B market value
What this company does
Philip Morris International makes tobacco products. It took in $40.65B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 28 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Strong finances across the board.
From Philip Morris International Inc.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +7.3%
$37.88B to $40.65B
Improved: +60.8%
$7.06B to $11.35B
Improved: +2.3 pts
64.8% to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$11.35B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$12.23B cash from operations
It holds more cash than debt, so borrowings are not a pressure.
$4.70B more cash than debt
It passes almost every standard check of financial strength.
Piotroski 7/8
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.96x cover on near-term bills
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 9% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 4% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 28 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $11.35B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 76 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 70% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodFigures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $11.35B and generated $12.23B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-24 | 2026-08-24 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-24 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from PM's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
7 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
4.20
In the safe zone
For this model, above 2.99 is safe and below 1.81 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +9.3 pts
18.6% to 27.9%
Improved: +15.6%
$4.22B to $4.87B
Changed: +8.7%
$1.44B to $1.57B
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 7% and 11%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 0.8% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 7.3% last year.
No — it holds more cash than debt, with $4.70B left over after paying off every borrowing. For every $1 it owes, it owns $0.90 in assets.
Around average. Investors pay $25.0 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-22 | 2026-07-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-09 | 2026-07-06 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-29 | 2026-06-29 |
| Major event announcement (amended)(8-K/A) | 2026-06-16 | 2026-05-18 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-11 | 2026-06-11 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-02 | 2026-06-02 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-20 | 2026-05-18 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-08 | 2026-05-06 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-06 | 2026-05-06 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-29 | 2026-04-27 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-24 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-22 | 2026-04-22 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-26 | 2026-05-06 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-13 | 2026-03-13 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-05 | 2026-03-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-18 | 2026-02-18 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-18 | 2026-02-18 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-06 | 2025-12-31 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
I've Been Wrong About Philip Morris International Stock for 5 Years. Here's Why I'm Finally Changing My Mind.
Yahoo Finance ·
Philip Morris International to Host Webcast of Fireside Chat Session at Barclays Global Consumer Conference
Yahoo Finance ·
Philip Morris Stock: Is PM Outperforming the Consumer Staples Sector?
Yahoo Finance ·
Altria vs. Philip Morris: Which Tobacco Giant Looks Stronger?
Yahoo Finance ·
Altria vs. Philip Morris: What the New Manufacturing Deal Means for Investors
Yahoo Finance ·
PM Stock Alert: What to Know as Philip Morris Teams Up With Altria on Manufacturing
Yahoo Finance ·
No ETFs Required: How a 64-Year-Old Built a $5,700 Monthly Paycheck From Five Dividend Stocks
Yahoo Finance ·
Altria's PM Deal Can Strengthen Efficiency of Its Tobacco Business
Yahoo Finance ·
PMI U.S. Launches ZYN "When It Clicks," a New Brand Platform Built Around the Moment Everything Falls Into Place
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Altria's on! PLUS Shaping Up as Its Next Major Growth Engine?
Yahoo Finance ·
Altria's Smoke-Free Ambition Has Quietly Narrowed To Its Nicotine Pouch Brand
Yahoo Finance ·
3 Market-Beating Stocks with Exciting Potential
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research