NYSE · Retail-Lumber & Other Building Materials Dealers · CIK 0000060667
$204.45
-1.73% · delayed 15 min
$114.70B market value
What this company does
LOWES COMPANIES sells building and garden supplies. It took in $86.29B last year, which makes it a very large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 8 cents is left as profit.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score 0.63
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From LOWES COMPANIES INC's FY2026 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2025, from the 10-K
Deteriorated: +12.7%
$35.32B to $39.82B
Deteriorated: -44.2%
$1.76B to $982.0M
Changed: +14.8%
$1.93B
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$6.65B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$9.86B cash from operations
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z 0.63
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 6% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 8% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 8 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $6.65B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 40 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 27% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2026 annual filing
Last year it earned $6.65B and generated $9.86B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-09-02 | 2026-08-28 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-27 | 2026-07-31 |
Financial figures are from LOW's 10-K for fiscal year 2026 (period ending 2026-01-30), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
6 of 9 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's.
0.63
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2026 filing as filed with the SEC.
6 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 3% and 8%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.6% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 3.1% last year.
Manageable, but notable. Clearing its debt would take about 3.9 years of cash flow. For every $1 it owes, it owns $0.85 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
Around average. Investors pay $17.2 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-19 | 2026-08-19 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-02 | 2026-05-29 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-28 | 2026-05-01 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-20 | 2026-05-20 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-04-16 | 2026-05-29 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-03-23 | 2026-01-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-25 | 2026-02-25 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-11-26 | 2025-10-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-19 | 2025-11-19 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-09 | 2025-10-09 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-30 | 2025-09-23 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-19 | 2025-09-16 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-08-28 | 2025-08-01 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-20 | 2025-08-19 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-20 | 2025-08-20 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-06-05 | 2025-05-30 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-05-29 | 2025-05-02 |
| Major event announcement (amended)(8-K/A) | 2025-05-21 | 2025-05-21 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Lowe's (LOW) Is Considered a Good Investment by Brokers: Is That True?
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Cheap LOW Stock Fails Part Of The Value Test
Yahoo Finance ·
Retail Earnings Just Exposed a Bigger Divide in the U.S. Consumer Economy
Yahoo Finance ·
Did Lowe’s New EVP Lineup and Shelf Filing Just Quietly Reframe the LOW Investment Narrative?
Yahoo Finance ·
Mortgage Rates Just Hit a 1-Year High. Here’s What That Means for Lowe’s and Home Depot Investors.
Yahoo Finance ·
Prediction: Costco Could Be Worth More Than Home Depot and Lowe's Combined by 2030. Here's the Math.
Yahoo Finance ·
Lowe’s, BofA, AT&T, Nvidia, more launch workforce training initiative
Yahoo Finance ·
LOWE'S KICKS OFF YEAR TWO OF 'EARN YOUR SUNDAY' WITH EXPANDED ROSTER OF NFL SUPERSTARS AND A MISSION TO HELP FANS GET GAMEDAY READY
Yahoo Finance ·
Home Depot vs. Lowe’s: One Dividend Looks Much Stronger Under the Hood
Yahoo Finance ·
Can Lowe's Pro Growth Justify Its Valuation Despite DIY Weakness?
Yahoo Finance ·
Retailers are Handling Tariff Refunds in Very Different Ways: Walmart and Home Depot
Yahoo Finance ·
The Gap Between HD Stock And Its Own Numbers
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research