NEW YORK STOCK EXCHANGE, INC. · Professional Services · CIK 0001357615
$39.53
+5.95% · live
Updated
$5.00B market value
From KBR, INC.'s FY2026 10-K, filed Feb 26, 2026 · read the filing
KBR builds and constructs buildings. It took in $7.79B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 5 cents is left as profit.
The financial picture is mixed, with profitability, growth and debt needing attention.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From KBR, INC.'s FY2026 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2026
Cash
$342.0M → $500.0M
Operating income
$659.0M → $778.0M
Free cash flow
$410.0M → $515.0M
Earnings per share
$2.83 → $3.28
Measured against FY2025, from the 10-K filed Feb 26, 2026
Improved: +46.2%
$342.0M to $500.0MCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: +18.1%
$659.0M to $778.0MSignificant
Why it matters: Profit from running the business, before interest and tax. Less exposed than profit to one-off financing and tax items, so a clearer read on the business itself.
How the latest move compares (quote live), and what was published around it
KBR rose 5.95% on the latest quote. The average Industrials company tracked here moved +0.37%, and the S&P 500 −0.50%. That is 5.6 points above its sector and 6.5 points above the market.
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 1% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 11 years it grew by about 27% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 5 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $415.0M last year.
Barely. Sales were roughly flat, up 1.0%.
Manageable, but notable. Clearing its debt would take about 3.8 years of cash flow. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.30 in assets.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 20 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 15% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2026 annual filing
Last year it earned $415.0M and generated $557.0M of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
As reported to the SEC, in USD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY202610-K · Feb 26, 2026Filing for FY2026 | FY202510-K · Feb 26, 2026Filing for FY2025 | FY202310-K · Feb 26, 2026Filing for FY2023 | FY202210-K · Feb 17, 2023Filing for FY2022 | FY202110-K · Feb 17, 2023Filing for FY2021 | ChangeFY2026 vs FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueWhat is this? | $7.79B | $7.71B | $6.96B | $6.56B | $7.34B | +1.0% |
| Cost of revenue | $6.64B | $6.61B | $5.98B | $5.74B | $6.53B | +0.4% |
| Gross profit | $1.15B | $1.10B | $977.0M | $828.0M | $806.0M | +4.6% |
| Gross marginGross profit ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 14.8% | 14.3% | 14.0% | 12.6% | 11.0% | +0.5 pts |
| Selling, general and administrative | $578.0M | $543.0M | $487.0M | $420.0M | $393.0M | +6.4% |
| Operating income | $778.0M | $659.0M | $449.0M | $343.0M | $231.0M | +18.1% |
| Operating marginOperating income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 10.0% | 8.5% | 6.5% | 5.2% | 3.1% | +1.4 pts |
| Interest expense | $158.0M | $144.0M | $115.0M | $87.0M | $80.0M | +9.7% |
| Income before tax | $614.0M | $508.0M | -$165.0M | $284.0M | $146.0M | +20.9% |
| Net income | $415.0M | $375.0M | -$265.0M | $190.0M | $27.0M | +10.7% |
| Net marginNet income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 5.3% | 4.9% | -3.8% | 2.9% | 0.4% | +0.5 pts |
| Earnings per shareNet income ÷ shares outstanding at the period end — close to, but not the same as, the reported EPSWhat is this? | $3.28 | $2.83 | $-1.96 | $1.39 | $0.1932 | +15.9% |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
This company's latest filing beside its peers' stored scores
| Company | Health | F-Score | Revenue growth | Profit margin | P/E | Debt to equity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KBRKBR, INC. · this page | 6.0/10 | 8/9 | 1.0% | 5.3% | 12.05x |
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Officers, directors and major shareholders must report within two business days of a trade.
Was granted or awarded shares — 33 shares at $36.44 ($1.2K)
Holds 10,846 shares after this filing.
Was granted or awarded shares — 51 shares at $36.44 ($1.9K)
Holds 29,206 shares after this filing.
20 recent filings, newest first. Each is labelled from its form and item numbers, not from its wording.
Amended its charter or changed its financial year
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingWrite down why you are following KBR, INC., what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to a filing in the timeline, each linked to the document itself.
The 164 subsidiaries named in its 10-K, incorporated across 30 places. A filer lists the significant ones and may leave the rest out, so this is the floor rather than the full count.
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from KBR's 10-K for fiscal year 2026 (period ending 2026-01-02, filed Feb 26, 2026), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
3 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. Accounting had too few reported figures and is left out of the average rather than counted as a weakness, so a company is never marked down for a figure it did not publish. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 9 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Each year scored only from its annual report as it was first filed
| Fiscal year | Health | F-Score | Scored from |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2026 | 6.0 | 8/9 | 10-K, filed Feb 26, 2026 |
| FY2025 | 6.0 | 3/3 | 10-K, filed Feb 25, 2025 |
| FY2023 | 4.7 | 6/9 | 10-K, filed Feb 20, 2024 |
| FY2022 | 4.7 | 7/9 | 10-K, filed Feb 17, 2023 |
| FY2021 | 7.3 | 7/9 | 10-K, filed Feb 22, 2022 |
| FY2020 | 3.3 | 3/9 | 10-K, filed Feb 25, 2021 |
A later restatement never reaches back into an earlier year, and every year is scored without a share price, so the latest point can differ a little from the headline score, which uses today's price.
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
8 of 9 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's.
2.31
In the grey zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2026 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +25.6%
$410.0M to $515.0MSignificant
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
Improved: +15.9%
$2.83 to $3.28Significant
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Changed: -19.2%
$52.0M to $42.0MSignificant
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
Improved: +10.7%
$375.0M to $415.0MNotable
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +1.4 pts
8.5% to 10.0%Notable
Why it matters: What survives each sale after running the business. A falling operating margin beside a steady gross margin points at overheads — wages, marketing, research — rather than pricing.
Improved: -4.5%
132.4M to 126.5MNotable
Why it matters: The company bought back stock, so each remaining holding owns slightly more of it. Worth checking it was not funded by borrowing.
Changed: +6.3%
$79.0M to $84.0MNotable
Why it matters: Cash handed to shareholders. A rise can be a higher dividend or simply more shares, and a cut is a decision the company explains in its own filing — neither is rated here.
Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025, from the 10-Q filed Jul 30, 2026 — read it.
Improved: +31.5%
$73.0M to $96.0MSignificant
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +34.4%
$0.57 to $0.76Significant
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Deteriorated: -22.6%
$403.0M to $312.0MSignificant
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Deteriorated: -11.3%
$194.0M to $172.0MNotable
Why it matters: Profit from running the business, before interest and tax. Less exposed than profit to one-off financing and tax items, so a clearer read on the business itself.
Deteriorated: −1.3 pts
9.9% to 8.7%Notable
Why it matters: What survives each sale after running the business. A falling operating margin beside a steady gross margin points at overheads — wages, marketing, research — rather than pricing.
Improved: +1.1 pts
3.7% to 4.8%Notable
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: -2.2%
128.8M to 126.1MNotable
Why it matters: The company bought back stock, so each remaining holding owns slightly more of it. Worth checking it was not funded by borrowing.
Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026, from the 10-Q filed Jul 30, 2026 — read it. Quarter-to-quarter moves include seasonal swings — a retailer's holiday quarter — which the year-earlier comparison removes.
Deteriorated: -17.9%
$380.0M to $312.0MSignificant
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: +10.6%
$265.0M to $293.0MNotable
Why it matters: What is left of sales after the direct cost of producing them. It normally moves with revenue, so a move out of step with revenue is the part worth noticing.
Deteriorated: -5.9%
$102.0M to $96.0MNotable
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Deteriorated: -5.3%
$0.80 to $0.76Notable
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
5 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week — or compare against peers
Loading price history…
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between -1% and 3%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Opinions from 13 analysts covering this company, as of . Their views, not this site's.
Of 13 analysts publishing on this company, 3 say strong buy, 4 say buy and 6 say hold. Analysts are paid to publish a view and are wrong often; the split above says how much they agree with each other, which is the part a single headline rating hides.
Published by Finnhub. Analyst coverage skews towards larger companies and towards optimism — sell ratings are rare across the whole market, so a company with none is ordinary rather than endorsed.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 8.1% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
The trailing P/E is 13.0x — investors pay $13.0 for each $1 of trailing profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
| 3.37x |
| SAICScience Applications International Corp | 6.0/10 | 6/9 | -2.9% | 4.9% | 17.64x | 2.57x |
|---|
| Median of peers | 6.0/10 | — | -2.9% | 4.9% | 17.64x | 2.57x |
|---|
Peers come from the company's industry classification. A difference describes the companies; it does not rank them.
Was granted or awarded shares — 33 shares at $36.44 ($1.2K)
Holds 13,512 shares after this filing.
Had shares withheld to cover taxes — 58 shares at $37.83 ($2.2K)
Holds 4,263 shares after this filing.
Was granted or awarded shares — 34 shares at $35.98 ($1.2K)
Holds 13,479 shares after this filing.
Was granted or awarded shares — 51 shares at $35.98 ($1.8K)
Holds 28,232 shares after this filing.
Was granted or awarded shares — 34 shares at $35.98 ($1.2K)
Holds 10,813 shares after this filing.
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Quarterly report for Q2 FY2026
Operating margin −1.3 pts · Profit +31.5% · Earnings per share +34.4% — against Q2 FY2025
Published results
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingHeld a shareholder vote
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2026
Capital spending +500.0% · Gross profit -11.7% · Operating income -10.9% — against Q1 FY2026
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingProxy statement for a shareholder meeting
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2026
Operating margin +1.4 pts · Cash +46.2% · Operating income +18.1% — against FY2025
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q3 FY2025
Profit +15.0% · Earnings per share +20.7% · Cash +16.7% — against Q3 FY2025
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q2 FY2025
Revenue +5.7% · Profit margin −2.0 pts · Profit -31.1% — against Q2 FY2025
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingThe first 40 of 164. The rest are in the exhibit.
Source: Exhibit 21 of the 10-K filed 2026-02-26. These are legal entities, not brands or acquisitions — a company that bought a business may hold it inside an entity named here, or inside one small enough that the rule does not require naming it at all.
Coverage from the last 30 days
KBR (KBR) Soars 6.0%: Is Further Upside Left in the Stock?
Yahoo ·
KBR (KBR) stock trades up, here is why
Yahoo ·
KBR (KBR) Recasts Its Bylaws, Is The Stock Still Undervalued?
Yahoo ·
KBR Inc. (KBR) Expected to Beat Earnings Estimates: What to Know Ahead of Q3 Release
Yahoo ·
KBR Awarded Contracts for AGF Nitrogen’s Ammonia Plant Revamps in Germany and Austria
Yahoo ·
KBR Awarded Contracts For Revamp Of Two AGF Nitrogen Ammonia Plants In Germany And Austria; Terms Not Disclosed
Benzinga ·
Why KBR (KBR) is Poised to Beat Earnings Estimates Again
Yahoo ·
Can EMCOR's Execution Excellence Continue Defying Construction Cycles?
Yahoo ·
3 Small-Cap Stocks We Think Twice About
Yahoo ·
KBR vs. ALFVY: Which Stock Is the Better Value Option?
Yahoo ·
Are Investors Undervaluing KBR (KBR) Right Now?
Yahoo ·
1 Profitable Stock to Own for Decades and 2 We Question
Yahoo ·
Primary sources and further research