NYSE · General Industrial Machinery & Equipment · CIK 0000049826
$270.12
-3.56% · delayed 15 min
$77.96B market value
What this company does
ILLINOIS TOOL WORKS makes industrial machinery and equipment. It took in $16.04B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 19 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Strong finances across the board.
From ILLINOIS TOOL WORKS INC's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Deteriorated: -12.1%
$3.49B to $3.07B
Deteriorated: −2.8 pts
21.9% to 19.1%
Deteriorated: +5.9%
$6.31B
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$3.07B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$3.13B cash from operations
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it well clear of distress.
Altman Z 8.17
It keeps less of each sale as profit than it did a year ago.
21.9% → 19.1%
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 12% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 3% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 19 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $3.07B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 58 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 57% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $3.07B and generated $3.13B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-13 | 2026-08-11 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-06 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from ITW's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
5 of 9 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's.
8.17
In the safe zone
For this model, above 2.99 is safe and below 1.81 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: -10.2%
$948.0M to $851.0M
Improved: -1.8%
294.0M to 288.6M
4 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 9% and 14%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 3.0% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Barely. Sales were roughly flat, up 0.9%.
No. At its current cash flow it could clear its debt in about 2.2 years. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.25 in assets.
Around average. Investors pay $25.4 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-28 | 2026-07-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-22 | 2026-05-19 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-12 | 2026-05-08 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-07 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-30 | 2026-04-30 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-27 | 2026-05-08 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-23 | 2026-02-20 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-13 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-03 | 2026-02-03 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-24 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-24 | 2025-10-24 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-08-01 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-30 | 2025-07-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-07 | 2025-05-02 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-05-01 | 2025-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-04-30 | 2025-04-30 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2025-03-21 | 2025-05-02 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-02-27 | 2025-02-24 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Is Illinois Tool Works Stock Underperforming the Nasdaq?
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Is Illinois Tool Works (ITW) Down 2.4% Since Last Earnings Report?
Yahoo Finance ·
Illinois Tool Works Stock: Analyst Estimates & Ratings
Yahoo Finance ·
ITW Announces 7% Dividend Increase and $6 Billion Share Repurchase Program
Yahoo Finance ·
Illinois Tool Works (ITW) Is Up 8.5% After Raising 2026 Guidance And Boosting Share Buybacks
Yahoo Finance ·
1 Surging Stock with Competitive Advantages and 2 Facing Headwinds
Yahoo Finance ·
3 Cash-Producing Stocks We’re Skeptical Of
Yahoo Finance ·
3 Dividend-Paying Industrial Stocks to Buy Right Now
Yahoo Finance ·
The New Miller® Copilot™ Builder™ With Blue iQ™ Brings Adaptive Automation to Real-World Fabrication Environments
Yahoo Finance ·
Nordson's Order Book, Not Just Its Record Quarter, Moved The Stock
Yahoo Finance ·
Teks launches Elite Metal-to-Metal Screws for professional trade applications
Yahoo Finance ·
Paslode Launches New Universal Heavy-Duty Stapling Solutions for PROs
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research