TORONTO STOCK EXCHANGE · Energy · CIK 0000049938
$135.57
+0.43% · live
Updated
$65.56B market value
From IMPERIAL OIL LTD's FY2025 10-K, filed Feb 18, 2026 · read the filing
IMPERIAL OIL refines oil into fuel and related products. It took in $33.55B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 7 cents is left as profit.
The financial picture is led by debt, with profitability worth watching, while growth remain weak.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From IMPERIAL OIL LTD's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2025
Profit
$3.41B → $2.33B
Earnings per share
$6.71 → $4.82
Cash
$697.6M → $813.7M
Revenue
$36.72B → $33.55B
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K filed Feb 18, 2026
Deteriorated: -31.8%
$3.41B to $2.33BSignificant
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
How the latest move compares (quote live), and what was published around it
IMO rose 0.43% on the latest quote. The average Energy company tracked here moved −0.94%, and the S&P 500 −1.04%. That is 1.4 points above its sector and 1.5 points above the market.
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 6% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 9 years it grew by about 20% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 7 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $2.33B last year.
No. Sales shrank 8.6% last year.
No. Its borrowings would take under a year of cash flow to clear. For every $1 it owes, it owns $2.11 in assets.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 43 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 21% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $2.33B and generated $4.78B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
As reported to the SEC, in USD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY202510-K · Feb 18, 2026Filing for FY2025 | FY202410-K · Feb 18, 2026Filing for FY2024 | FY202310-K · Feb 19, 2025Filing for FY2023 | FY202210-K · Feb 19, 2025Filing for FY2022 | FY202110-K · Feb 22, 2023Filing for FY2021 | ChangeFY2025 vs FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueWhat is this? | $33.55B | $36.72B | $36.32B | $42.52B | $26.79B | −8.6% |
| Selling, general and administrative | $987.6M | $673.4M | $610.7M | $628.5M | — | +46.7% |
| Interest expense | $8.6M | $29.2M | $49.2M | $42.8M | $38.5M | −70.7% |
| Income before tax | $3.04B | $4.45B | $4.54B | $6.76B | $2.34B | −31.7% |
| Net income | $2.33B | $3.41B | $3.48B | $5.23B | $1.77B | −31.8% |
| Net marginNet income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 6.9% | 9.3% | 9.6% | 12.3% | 6.6% | −2.4 pts |
| Earnings per shareNet income ÷ shares outstanding at the period end — close to, but not the same as, the reported EPSWhat is this? | $4.82 | $6.71 | $6.50 | $8.96 | $2.61 | −28.2% |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
20 recent filings, newest first. Each is labelled from its form and item numbers, not from its wording.
Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q2 FY2026
Revenue +43.0% · Profit margin +5.2 pts · Profit +130.8% — against Q2 FY2025
Read the filingWrite down why you are following IMPERIAL OIL LTD, what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to a filing in the timeline, each linked to the document itself.
Coverage from the last 30 days
Cenovus Energy Is Just One Of 3 Canadian Oil Stocks To Watch
Yahoo ·
ExxonMobil Stock And Oil Majors With The Most Riding On Crude Prices
Yahoo ·
Imperial to hold 2026 Third Quarter Earnings Call
Yahoo ·
Watching Drilling Tools International; Hearing Zacks Under $10 Newsletter Picks Stock
Benzinga ·
Are Oils-Energy Stocks Lagging Eni (E) This Year?
Yahoo ·
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from IMO's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31, filed Feb 18, 2026), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. Reported in CAD and shown here in USD, the currency IMO trades in, converted at today's rate of 0.7126. The filing itself is in CAD. View the source filing.
3 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. Accounting had too few reported figures and is left out of the average rather than counted as a weakness, so a company is never marked down for a figure it did not publish. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 8 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Each year scored only from its annual report as it was first filed
| Fiscal year | Health | F-Score | Scored from |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | 6.0 | 4/8 | 10-K, filed Feb 18, 2026 |
| FY2024 | 7.3 | 6/8 | 10-K, filed Feb 19, 2025 |
| FY2023 | 6.0 | 4/8 | 10-K, filed Feb 28, 2024 |
| FY2022 | 10.0 | 7/8 | 10-K, filed Feb 22, 2023 |
| FY2021 | 10.0 | 7/7 | 10-K, filed Feb 23, 2022 |
| FY2020 | 4.0 | 3/7 | 10-K, filed Feb 24, 2021 |
A later restatement never reaches back into an earlier year, and every year is scored without a share price, so the latest point can differ a little from the headline score, which uses today's price.
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
4 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
4.96
In the safe zone
For this model, above 2.99 is safe and below 1.81 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: -28.2%
$6.71 to $4.82Significant
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +16.6%
$697.6M to $813.7MSignificant
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Deteriorated: -8.6%
$36.72B to $33.55BNotable
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Deteriorated: −2.4 pts
9.3% to 6.9%Notable
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: +14.3%
$2.93B to $3.35BNotable
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
Improved: -5.0%
509.0M to 483.6MNotable
Why it matters: The company bought back stock, so each remaining holding owns slightly more of it. Worth checking it was not funded by borrowing.
Changed: +13.2%
$882.1M to $998.3MNotable
Why it matters: Cash handed to shareholders. A rise can be a higher dividend or simply more shares, and a cut is a decision the company explains in its own filing — neither is rated here.
Changed: +7.4%
$1.33B to $1.43BNotable
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025, from the 10-Q filed Aug 3, 2026 — read it.
Improved: +43.0%
$8.00B to $11.45BCritical
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Improved: +130.8%
$676.2M to $1.56BCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +118.7%
$708.3M to $1.55BCritical
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
Improved: +142.7%
$1.33 to $3.22Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +5.2 pts
8.4% to 13.6%Significant
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: +19.0%
$1.70B to $2.02BSignificant
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: -4.9%
509.0M to 484.0MNotable
Why it matters: The company bought back stock, so each remaining holding owns slightly more of it. Worth checking it was not funded by borrowing.
Changed: +14.7%
$261.5M to $300.0MNotable
Why it matters: Cash handed to shareholders. A rise can be a higher dividend or simply more shares, and a cut is a decision the company explains in its own filing — neither is rated here.
Changed: +12.5%
$335.6M to $377.7MNotable
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026, from the 10-Q filed Aug 3, 2026 — read it. Quarter-to-quarter moves include seasonal swings — a retailer's holiday quarter — which the year-earlier comparison removes.
Improved: +133.0%
$669.8M to $1.56BCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +673.7%
$200.2M to $1.55BCritical
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
Improved: +133.0%
$1.38 to $3.22Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +175.9%
$733.2M to $2.02BCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: +29.1%
$8.87B to $11.45BSignificant
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Improved: +6.1 pts
7.6% to 13.6%Significant
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Changed: +20.3%
$249.4M to $300.0MSignificant
Why it matters: Cash handed to shareholders. A rise can be a higher dividend or simply more shares, and a cut is a decision the company explains in its own filing — neither is rated here.
Changed: +11.6%
$338.5M to $377.7MNotable
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week — or compare against peers
Loading price history…
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 3% and 8%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Opinions from 24 analysts covering this company, as of . Their views, not this site's.
Of 24 analysts publishing on this company, 1 say buy, 10 say hold, 11 say sell and 2 say strong sell. Analysts are paid to publish a view and are wrong often; the split above says how much they agree with each other, which is the part a single headline rating hides.
Published by Finnhub. Analyst coverage skews towards larger companies and towards optimism — sell ratings are rare across the whole market, so a company with none is ordinary rather than endorsed.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 3.6% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
The trailing P/E is 19.9x — investors pay $19.9 for each $1 of trailing profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Had a director or senior officer leave or join
Published results
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingHeld a shareholder vote · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2026
Profit margin −2.7 pts · Free cash flow -75.1% · Cash -41.7% — against Q1 FY2025
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2025
Revenue -8.6% · Profit margin −2.4 pts · Profit -31.8% — against FY2024
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q3 FY2025
Revenue -9.1% · Profit margin −4.9 pts · Profit -56.4% — against Q3 FY2024
Read the filingPrimary sources and further research