NYSE · Services-General Medical & Surgical Hospitals, NEC · CIK 0000860730
$405.00
-3.07% · delayed 15 min
$90.97B market value
What this company does
HCA Healthcare provides healthcare and runs medical facilities. It took in $75.60B last year, which makes it a very large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 9 cents is left as profit.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score 0.87
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From HCA Healthcare, Inc.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +7.1%
$70.60B to $75.60B
Improved: +17.8%
$5.76B to $6.78B
Improved: +36.4%
$5.64B to $7.69B
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$6.78B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$12.64B cash from operations
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.97x cover on near-term bills
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z 0.87
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 4% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 13% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 9 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $6.78B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 10 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 5% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 8 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $6.78B and generated $12.64B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-29 | 2026-07-29 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-28 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from HCA's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
6 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
0.87
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: +8.5%
$38.33B to $41.60B
Deteriorated: -46.2%
$1.93B to $1.04B
Improved: -10.2%
250.0M to 224.6M
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 2% and 6%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 2.7% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 7.1% last year.
Manageable, but notable. Clearing its debt would take about 3.6 years of cash flow. For every $1 it owes, it owns $0.91 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
On the cheaper side. Investors pay $13.4 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-24 | 2026-07-24 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-14 | 2026-07-14 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-18 | 2026-06-15 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-30 | 2026-04-27 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-29 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-28 | 2026-04-23 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-27 | 2026-04-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-24 | 2026-04-24 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-13 | 2026-04-23 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-25 | 2026-02-20 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-10 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-27 | 2026-01-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-31 | 2025-10-27 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-30 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-27 | 2025-10-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-24 | 2025-10-24 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-08-04 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-25 | 2025-07-25 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
The Bull Case For HCA Healthcare (HCA) Could Change Following 2026 Guidance Cut And Payer Mix Strain
Yahoo Finance ·
HCA Healthcare (HCA) Faces Securities Fraud Investigation With Shareholder Risks In Focus
Yahoo Finance ·
HCA Healthcare (HCA) Could Be 11% Below Fair Value As Guidance Gets Cut
Yahoo Finance ·
Is HCA Healthcare Stock Underperforming the Nasdaq?
Yahoo Finance ·
Charles River (CRL) Up 10.5% Since Last Earnings Report: Can It Continue?
Yahoo Finance ·
Community Health Systems to Participate in the Wells Fargo 21st Annual Healthcare Conference
Yahoo Finance ·
Form 8.3
Yahoo Finance ·
Can Ensign Group's Operating Model Drive Growth Beyond Acquisitions?
Yahoo Finance ·
Tenet Healthcare and Archrock have been highlighted as Zacks Bull and Bear of the Day
Yahoo Finance ·
Tenet to Participate in the Wells Fargo Healthcare Conference
Yahoo Finance ·
Ardent Health Marks Expansion of Specialty Care in New UT Tyler School of Medicine
Yahoo Finance ·
DaVita agrees to pay $15M to settle claims from data breach
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research