NEW YORK STOCK EXCHANGE, INC. · Chemicals · CIK 0000915389
$65.31
+2.85% · live
Updated
$14.63B market value
From EASTMAN CHEMICAL CO's FY2025 10-K, filed Feb 13, 2026 · read the filing
EASTMAN CHEMICAL makes industrial chemicals. It took in $8.75B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 5 cents is left as profit.
The financial picture is led by accounting, with profitability and debt worth watching, while growth remain weak.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From EASTMAN CHEMICAL CO's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2025
Profit
$905.0M → $474.0M
Earnings per share
$4.05 → $2.12
Gross profit
$2.29B → $1.84B
Gross margin
24.4% → 21.1%
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K filed Feb 13, 2026
Deteriorated: -47.6%
$905.0M to $474.0MCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
How the latest move compares (quote live), and what was published around it
EMN rose 2.85% on the latest quote. The average Materials company tracked here moved −1.36%, and the S&P 500 −1.04%. That is 4.2 points above its sector and 3.9 points above the market.
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Opinions from 22 analysts covering this company, as of . Their views, not this site's.
Of 22 analysts publishing on this company, 6 say strong buy, 6 say buy and 10 say hold. Analysts are paid to publish a view and are wrong often; the split above says how much they agree with each other, which is the part a single headline rating hides.
Published by Finnhub. Analyst coverage skews towards larger companies and towards optimism — sell ratings are rare across the whole market, so a company with none is ordinary rather than endorsed.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 5 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $474.0M last year.
No. Sales shrank 6.7% last year.
Manageable, but notable. Clearing its debt would take about 4.4 years of cash flow. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.68 in assets.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 80 cents of every dollar of profit, which leaves little room for the payment to survive a bad year. It paid out 39% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
MixedNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $474.0M and generated $970.0M of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
As reported to the SEC, in USD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY202510-K · Feb 13, 2026Filing for FY2025 | FY202410-K · Feb 14, 2025Filing for FY2024 | FY202310-K · Feb 14, 2024Filing for FY2023 | FY202210-K · Feb 15, 2023Filing for FY2022 | FY202110-K · Feb 25, 2022Filing for FY2021 | ChangeFY2025 vs FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueWhat is this? | $8.75B | $9.38B | $9.21B | $10.58B | $10.48B | −6.7% |
| Cost of revenue | $6.91B | $7.09B | $7.15B | $8.44B | $7.98B | −2.6% |
| Gross profit | $1.84B | $2.29B | $2.06B | $2.14B | $2.50B | −19.5% |
| Gross marginGross profit ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 21.1% | 24.4% | 22.4% | 20.2% | 23.9% | −3.3 pts |
| Selling, general and administrative | $658.0M | $736.0M | $727.0M | $726.0M | $795.0M | −10.6% |
| Income before tax | $568.0M | $1.08B | $1.09B | $977.0M | $1.08B | −47.3% |
| Net income | $474.0M | $905.0M | $894.0M | $793.0M | $857.0M | −47.6% |
| Net marginNet income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 5.4% | 9.6% | 9.7% | 7.5% | 8.2% | −4.2 pts |
| Earnings per shareNet income ÷ shares outstanding at the period end — close to, but not the same as, the reported EPSWhat is this? | $2.12 | $4.05 | $4.01 | $3.57 | $3.86 | −47.7% |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
This company's latest filing beside its peers' stored scores
| Company | Health | F-Score | Revenue growth | Profit margin | P/E | Debt to equity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EMNEASTMAN CHEMICAL CO · this page | 6.0/10 | 5/9 | -6.7% | 5.4% | 30.86x | 1.48x |
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Notice filed ahead of a planned sale — the sale itself has not necessarily happened yet.
Filed notice to sell 3,283 shares ($234.1K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Restricted Stock Vesting.
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
20 recent filings, newest first. Each is labelled from its form and item numbers, not from its wording.
Amended its charter or changed its financial year · Reported another event
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q2 FY2026
Revenue +9.9% · Profit margin +1.2 pts · Cash +63.4% — against Q2 FY2025
Read the filingWrite down why you are following EASTMAN CHEMICAL CO, what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to a filing in the timeline, each linked to the document itself.
The 177 subsidiaries named in its 10-K, incorporated across 49 places. A filer lists the significant ones and may leave the rest out, so this is the floor rather than the full count.
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from EMN's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31, filed Feb 13, 2026), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
4 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. All four had enough reported figures. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 9 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Each year scored only from its annual report as it was first filed
| Fiscal year | Health | F-Score | Scored from |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | 6.0 | 5/9 | 10-K, filed Feb 13, 2026 |
| FY2024 | 7.0 | 7/9 | 10-K, filed Feb 14, 2025 |
| FY2023 | 6.0 | 7/9 | 10-K, filed Feb 14, 2024 |
| FY2022 | 7.0 | 6/9 | 10-K, filed Feb 15, 2023 |
| FY2021 | 9.0 | 8/9 | 10-K, filed Feb 25, 2022 |
| FY2020 | 6.0 | 5/9 | 10-K, filed Feb 22, 2021 |
A later restatement never reaches back into an earlier year, and every year is scored without a share price, so the latest point can differ a little from the headline score, which uses today's price.
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
5 of 9 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
-2.58
Below the threshold — nothing unusual flagged
Scores above -1.78 are the ones the model associates with earnings manipulation.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: -47.7%
$4.05 to $2.12Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Deteriorated: -19.5%
$2.29B to $1.84BSignificant
Why it matters: What is left of sales after the direct cost of producing them. It normally moves with revenue, so a move out of step with revenue is the part worth noticing.
Deteriorated: −3.3 pts
24.4% to 21.1%Significant
Why it matters: What survives each sale before overheads. Falling gross margin usually means the company is discounting or its input costs rose — it is the earliest place pricing pressure shows.
Deteriorated: −4.2 pts
9.6% to 5.4%Significant
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Deteriorated: -38.4%
$688.0M to $424.0MSignificant
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
Deteriorated: -32.4%
$837.0M to $566.0MSignificant
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Deteriorated: -6.7%
$9.38B to $8.75BNotable
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Improved: -8.0%
$4.57B to $4.20BNotable
Why it matters: Rising debt is not automatically bad — borrowing to build something that earns more than the interest is ordinary. It matters when it grows faster than the profit meant to service it.
Changed: -8.8%
$599.0M to $546.0MNotable
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025, from the 10-Q filed Jul 31, 2026 — read it.
Improved: +63.4%
$423.0M to $691.0MCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: +30.7%
$140.0M to $183.0MSignificant
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +31.2%
$1.22 to $1.60Significant
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +9.9%
$2.29B to $2.51BNotable
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Improved: +10.7%
$506.0M to $560.0MNotable
Why it matters: What is left of sales after the direct cost of producing them. It normally moves with revenue, so a move out of step with revenue is the part worth noticing.
Improved: +1.2 pts
6.1% to 7.3%Notable
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: -6.9%
$4.78B to $4.45BNotable
Why it matters: Rising debt is not automatically bad — borrowing to build something that earns more than the interest is ordinary. It matters when it grows faster than the profit meant to service it.
Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026, from the 10-Q filed Jul 31, 2026 — read it. Quarter-to-quarter moves include seasonal swings — a retailer's holiday quarter — which the year-earlier comparison removes.
Improved: +71.0%
$107.0M to $183.0MCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +71.0%
$0.94 to $1.60Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +15.4%
$2.18B to $2.51BSignificant
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Improved: +29.9%
$431.0M to $560.0MSignificant
Why it matters: What is left of sales after the direct cost of producing them. It normally moves with revenue, so a move out of step with revenue is the part worth noticing.
Improved: +2.5 pts
19.8% to 22.3%Notable
Why it matters: What survives each sale before overheads. Falling gross margin usually means the company is discounting or its input costs rose — it is the earliest place pricing pressure shows.
Improved: +2.4 pts
4.9% to 7.3%Notable
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week — or compare against peers
Loading price history…
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 3.0% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
The trailing P/E is 30.7x — a high multiple relative to the current trailing profit.
Nothing unusual. Its accounting patterns look like those of companies that report earnings straightforwardly.
| ALBALBEMARLE CORP |
|---|
| 4.0/10 |
| 6/9 |
| -4.4% |
| -9.9% |
| — |
| 0.72x |
| CECelanese Corp | 4.0/10 | 5/9 | -7.1% | -12.2% | — | 4.36x |
|---|
| Median of peers | 4.0/10 | — | -5.7% | -11.1% | — | 2.54x |
|---|
Peers come from the company's industry classification. A difference describes the companies; it does not rank them.
Published results
Held a shareholder vote
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2026
Profit margin −3.0 pts · Profit -41.2% · Earnings per share -40.6% — against Q1 FY2025
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingProxy statement for a shareholder meeting
Read the filingSigned a material agreement · Reported another event
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2025
Revenue -6.7% · Profit margin −4.2 pts · Profit -47.6% — against FY2024
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q3 FY2025
Revenue -10.6% · Profit margin −5.2 pts · Profit -73.9% — against Q3 FY2024
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q2 FY2025
Profit margin −3.6 pts · Gross profit -15.5% · Profit -39.1% — against Q2 FY2024
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingHeld a shareholder vote
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2025
Free cash flow $113.0M wider · Cash -16.2% · Capital spending -20.5% — against Q1 FY2024
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingThe first 40 of 177. The rest are in the exhibit.
Source: Exhibit 21 of the 10-K filed 2026-02-13. These are legal entities, not brands or acquisitions — a company that bought a business may hold it inside an entity named here, or inside one small enough that the rule does not require naming it at all.
Coverage from the last 30 days
Eastman Chemical (EMN) Earnings Expected to Grow: Should You Buy?
Yahoo ·
DOW Gains on Projects & Self-Help Actions Amid Demand and Cost Woes
Yahoo ·
15 Undervalued Stocks: Yield Up To 7.8% And 15 Overvalued Not To Pursue Now
SeekingAlpha ·
DD Gains on Innovation, Productivity and Strategic Acquisitions
Yahoo ·
Dow Launches VOLTRICELL Platform to Advance Battery Innovation
Yahoo ·
Workday downgraded, Fox Corp. upgraded: Wall Street's top analyst calls
Yahoo ·
Eastman Chemical (EMN) Stock Could Be Reasonable Based On Cash Flow
Yahoo ·
This Workday Analyst Is No Longer Bullish; Here Are Top 5 Downgrades For Friday
Benzinga ·
JP Morgan Downgrades Eastman Chemical to Neutral, Lowers Price Target to $66
Benzinga ·
Eastman Chemical: The Market Is Overreacting To Suspected Downside
SeekingAlpha ·
RBC Capital Maintains Sector Perform on Eastman Chemical, Lowers Price Target to $65
Benzinga ·
Barclays Initiates Coverage On Eastman Chemical with Equal-Weight Rating, Announces Price Target of $72
Benzinga ·
Primary sources and further research