NYSE · Plastic Materials, Synth Resins & Nonvulcan Elastomers · CIK 0001751788
$29.44
-3.51% · delayed 15 min
$20.72B market value
What this company does
DOW makes industrial chemicals. It took in $39.97B last year, which makes it a large company. It spends more than it earns — losing about 6 cents on every dollar of sales.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score 1.47
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
Significant financial weakness across most measures.
From DOW INC.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Deteriorated: -7.0%
$42.96B to $39.97B
Deteriorated: turned negative
$1.20B to -$2.44B
Deteriorated: −4.4 pts
10.7% to
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$1.03B cash from operations
It loses money, so it depends on cash reserves or new funding to keep going.
$2.44B lost last year
Sales are shrinking rather than growing.
down 7.0% on last year
It keeps less of each sale as profit than it did a year ago.
2.8% → -6.1%
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z 1.47
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 5.3% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
No. It lost $2.44B last year, losing about 6 cents on every dollar of sales.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It paid a dividend while making a loss, so the payment did not come out of profits — it came from reserves, borrowing or asset sales. It paid out 144% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 9 years.
WeakNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it lost $2.44B and generated $1.03B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-24 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-23 | 2026-07-23 |
Financial figures are from DOW's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
4 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
1.47
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.99 is safe and below 1.81 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: −8.9 pts
2.8% to -6.1%
Deteriorated: $1.42B wider
-$26.0M to -$1.45B
Improved: +74.3%
$2.19B to $3.82B
Changed: -15.7%
$2.94B to $2.48B
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
No. Sales shrank 7.0% last year.
Manageable. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.38 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
It has no profits to compare a price against, because it lost money last year.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-10 | 2026-07-10 |
| Major event announcement (amended)(8-K/A) | 2026-07-06 | 2026-04-09 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-24 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-23 | 2026-04-23 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-14 | 2026-04-09 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-02-27 | 2026-04-09 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-03 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-02 | 2026-02-02 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-29 | 2026-01-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-29 | 2026-01-26 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-05 | 2025-12-29 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-24 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-23 | 2025-10-23 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-08 | 2025-09-03 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-02 | 2025-08-31 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-25 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-24 | 2025-07-24 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-07 | 2025-06-30 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Dow Inc. (DOW) Exceeds Market Returns: Some Facts to Consider
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Dow’s High Payout Ratio And Perceived Undervaluation Recasting Its Cash Discipline Story (DOW)?
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Dow (DOW) Undervalued On Its New Dividend Or Is The Upside Priced In?
Yahoo Finance ·
Dow (DOW) Stock Looks Reasonable With 25% Upside To Fair Value
Yahoo Finance ·
Dow Inc's Dividend Analysis
Yahoo Finance ·
TRISO-X Advances to Next Phase of Construction for TX-1 Fuel Fabrication Facility
Yahoo Finance ·
What Are Wall Street Analysts' Target Price for Dow Stock?
Yahoo Finance ·
NACD Announces Finalists for 2026 Directorship 100 B. Kenneth West Lifetime Achievement Award and Directors of the Year
Yahoo Finance ·
DOW's Shares Rally 30% YTD: What's Driving the Momentum?
Yahoo Finance ·
Dow, S&P 500 and Nasdaq Fall as Middle East Conflict Lifts Oil Prices
Yahoo Finance ·
3 High-Yield Dividend Stocks That Look Dirt Cheap on 2027 Earnings
Yahoo Finance ·
Here's Why You Should Retain DOW Stock in Your Portfolio
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research