NEW YORK STOCK EXCHANGE, INC. · Retail · CIK 0000029534
$139.11
+5.29% · live
Updated
$30.64B market value
From DOLLAR GENERAL CORP's FY2026 10-K, filed Mar 20, 2026 · read the filing
DOLLAR GENERAL runs general merchandise and department stores. It took in $42.72B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 4 cents is left as profit.
The financial picture is led by debt, with profitability and growth worth watching.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
Recent open-market selling by REARDON KATHLEEN A, not under a pre-arranged plan.
$732.6K sold in the last 120 days · Read the filing
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From DOLLAR GENERAL CORP's FY2026 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2026
Free cash flow
$1.69B → $2.39B
Operating income
$1.71B → $2.20B
Profit
$1.13B → $1.51B
Earnings per share
$5.12 → $6.87
Measured against FY2025, from the 10-K filed Mar 20, 2026
Improved: +41.9%
$1.69B to $2.39BCritical
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
How the latest move compares (quote live), and what was published around it
DG rose 5.29% on the latest quote. The average Consumer Discretionary company tracked here moved +2.26%, and the S&P 500 −1.04%. That is 3.0 points above its sector and 6.3 points above the market.
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 1% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 10% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 4 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $1.51B last year.
Slowly. Sales grew 5.2% last year.
No. Its borrowings would take under a year of cash flow to clear. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.38 in assets.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 34 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 14% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 11 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2026 annual filing
Last year it earned $1.51B and generated $3.63B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
As reported to the SEC, in USD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY202610-K · Mar 20, 2026Filing for FY2026 | FY202510-K · Mar 20, 2026Filing for FY2025 | FY202410-K · Mar 25, 2024Filing for FY2024 | FY202310-K · Mar 24, 2023Filing for FY2023 | FY202210-K · Mar 18, 2022Filing for FY2022 | ChangeFY2026 vs FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueWhat is this? | $42.72B | $40.61B | $38.69B | $37.84B | $34.22B | +5.2% |
| Cost of revenue | $29.62B | $28.59B | $26.97B | $26.02B | $23.41B | +3.6% |
| Gross profit | $13.10B | $12.02B | $11.72B | $11.82B | $10.81B | +9.0% |
| Gross marginGross profit ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 30.7% | 29.6% | 30.3% | 31.2% | 31.6% | +1.1 pts |
| Selling, general and administrative | $10.90B | $10.30B | $9.27B | $8.49B | $7.59B | +5.8% |
| Operating income | $2.20B | $1.71B | $2.45B | $3.33B | $3.22B | +28.6% |
| Operating marginOperating income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 5.2% | 4.2% | 6.3% | 8.8% | 9.4% | +0.9 pts |
| Interest expense | — | — | $326.8M | $211.3M | $157.5M | — |
| Income before tax | $1.96B | $1.44B | $2.12B | $3.12B | $3.06B | +36.5% |
| Net income | $1.51B | $1.13B | $1.66B | $2.42B | $2.40B | +34.4% |
| Net marginNet income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 3.5% | 2.8% | 4.3% | 6.4% | 7.0% | +0.8 pts |
| Earnings per shareNet income ÷ shares outstanding at the period end — close to, but not the same as, the reported EPSWhat is this? | $6.87 | $5.12 | $7.56 | $11.03 | $10.43 | +34.2% |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
This company's latest filing beside its peers' stored scores
| Company | Health | F-Score | Revenue growth | Profit margin | P/E | Debt to equity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DGDOLLAR GENERAL CORP · this page | 7.3/10 | 8/9 |
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Officers, directors and major shareholders must report within two business days of a trade.
Sold on the open market — 5,578 shares at $131.33 ($732.6K)
Holds 61,071 shares after this filing.
Notice filed ahead of a planned sale — the sale itself has not necessarily happened yet.
Filed notice to sell 5,578 shares ($732.6K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Restricted Stock Vesting Under a Registered Plan.
20 recent filings, newest first. Each is labelled from its form and item numbers, not from its wording.
Had a director or senior officer leave or join · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q2 FY2026
Revenue +5.2% · Operating margin +1.3 pts · Operating income +29.2% — against Q2 FY2025
Read the filingWrite down why you are following DOLLAR GENERAL CORP, what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to a filing in the timeline, each linked to the document itself.
The 51 subsidiaries named in its 10-K. A filer lists the significant ones and may leave the rest out, so this is the floor rather than the full count.
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from DG's 10-K for fiscal year 2026 (period ending 2026-01-30, filed Mar 20, 2026), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
3 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. Accounting had too few reported figures and is left out of the average rather than counted as a weakness, so a company is never marked down for a figure it did not publish. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 9 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Each year scored only from its annual report as it was first filed
| Fiscal year | Health | F-Score | Scored from |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2026 | 7.3 | 8/9 | 10-K, filed Mar 20, 2026 |
| FY2025 | 7.3 | 6/9 | 10-K, filed Mar 21, 2025 |
| FY2024 | 7.3 | 5/9 | 10-K, filed Mar 25, 2024 |
| FY2023 | 6.0 | 6/9 | 10-K, filed Mar 24, 2023 |
| FY2022 | 7.3 | 5/9 | 10-K, filed Mar 18, 2022 |
| FY2021 | 8.7 | 8/9 | 10-K, filed Mar 19, 2021 |
A later restatement never reaches back into an earlier year, and every year is scored without a share price, so the latest point can differ a little from the headline score, which uses today's price.
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
8 of 9 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's.
1.54
In the grey zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2026 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +28.6%
$1.71B to $2.20BSignificant
Why it matters: Profit from running the business, before interest and tax. Less exposed than profit to one-off financing and tax items, so a clearer read on the business itself.
Improved: +34.4%
$1.13B to $1.51BSignificant
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +34.2%
$5.12 to $6.87Significant
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: -20.2%
$5.72B to $4.57BSignificant
Why it matters: Rising debt is not automatically bad — borrowing to build something that earns more than the interest is ordinary. It matters when it grows faster than the profit meant to service it.
Improved: +22.1%
$932.6M to $1.14BSignificant
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: +5.2%
$40.61B to $42.72BNotable
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Improved: +9.0%
$12.02B to $13.10BNotable
Why it matters: What is left of sales after the direct cost of producing them. It normally moves with revenue, so a move out of step with revenue is the part worth noticing.
Improved: +1.1 pts
29.6% to 30.7%Notable
Why it matters: What survives each sale before overheads. Falling gross margin usually means the company is discounting or its input costs rose — it is the earliest place pricing pressure shows.
Changed: -5.2%
$1.31B to $1.24BNotable
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025, from the 10-Q filed Aug 27, 2026 — read it.
Improved: +29.2%
$595.4M to $769.2MSignificant
Why it matters: Profit from running the business, before interest and tax. Less exposed than profit to one-off financing and tax items, so a clearer read on the business itself.
Improved: +33.8%
$411.4M to $550.3MSignificant
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +33.4%
$1.87 to $2.49Significant
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: -20.4%
$5.73B to $4.56BSignificant
Why it matters: Rising debt is not automatically bad — borrowing to build something that earns more than the interest is ordinary. It matters when it grows faster than the profit meant to service it.
Improved: +23.7%
$1.28B to $1.59BSignificant
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: +5.2%
$10.73B to $11.29BNotable
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Improved: +9.5%
$3.36B to $3.68BNotable
Why it matters: What is left of sales after the direct cost of producing them. It normally moves with revenue, so a move out of step with revenue is the part worth noticing.
Improved: +1.3 pts
31.3% to 32.6%Notable
Why it matters: What survives each sale before overheads. Falling gross margin usually means the company is discounting or its input costs rose — it is the earliest place pricing pressure shows.
Improved: +1.3 pts
5.6% to 6.8%Notable
Why it matters: What survives each sale after running the business. A falling operating margin beside a steady gross margin points at overheads — wages, marketing, research — rather than pricing.
Improved: +1.0 pts
3.8% to 4.9%Notable
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026, from the 10-Q filed Aug 27, 2026 — read it. Quarter-to-quarter moves include seasonal swings — a retailer's holiday quarter — which the year-earlier comparison removes.
Improved: +20.5%
$638.5M to $769.2MSignificant
Why it matters: Profit from running the business, before interest and tax. Less exposed than profit to one-off financing and tax items, so a clearer read on the business itself.
Improved: +23.9%
$444.1M to $550.3MSignificant
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +23.8%
$2.02 to $2.49Significant
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +17.5%
$1.35B to $1.59BSignificant
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: +7.9%
$3.41B to $3.68BNotable
Why it matters: What is left of sales after the direct cost of producing them. It normally moves with revenue, so a move out of step with revenue is the part worth noticing.
4 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week — or compare against peers
Loading price history…
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between -1% and 3%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Opinions from 40 analysts covering this company, as of . Their views, not this site's.
Of 40 analysts publishing on this company, 10 say strong buy, 9 say buy, 20 say hold and 1 say sell. Analysts are paid to publish a view and are wrong often; the split above says how much they agree with each other, which is the part a single headline rating hides.
Published by Finnhub. Analyst coverage skews towards larger companies and towards optimism — sell ratings are rare across the whole market, so a company with none is ordinary rather than endorsed.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 3.0% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
The trailing P/E is 18.1x — investors pay $18.1 for each $1 of trailing profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
| 5.2% |
| 3.5% |
| 20.26x |
| 2.64x |
| WMTWalmart Inc. | 8.0/10 | 7/9 | 4.7% | 3.1% | 44.11x | 1.86x |
|---|
| COSTCOSTCO WHOLESALE CORP /NEW | 8.0/10 | 8/9 | 8.2% | 2.9% | 55.72x | 1.64x |
|---|
| TGTTARGET CORP | 6.0/10 | 5/9 | -1.7% | 3.5% | 19.32x | 2.68x |
|---|
| DLTRDOLLAR TREE, INC. | 7.3/10 | 8/9 | 10.4% | 6.6% | 20.28x | 2.59x |
|---|
| Median of peers | 7.7/10 | — | 6.4% | 3.3% | 32.19x | 2.22x |
|---|
Peers come from the company's industry classification. A difference describes the companies; it does not rank them.
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Published results · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Quarterly report for Q1 FY2026
Cash +59.2% · Free cash flow -34.5% · Long-term debt -20.3% — against Q1 FY2025
Read the filingPublished results · Held a shareholder vote · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingProxy statement for a shareholder meeting
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2026
Revenue +5.2% · Free cash flow +41.9% · Operating income +28.6% — against FY2025
Read the filingPublished results · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q3 FY2025
Profit +43.8% · Earnings per share +43.7% · Cash +130.9% — against Q3 FY2024
Read the filingPublished results · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q2 FY2025
Revenue +5.1% · Gross profit +9.9% · Operating income +8.3% — against Q2 FY2024
Read the filingPublished results · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2025
Revenue +5.3% · Free cash flow +72.8% · Cash +17.9% — against Q1 FY2024
Read the filingPublished results · Held a shareholder vote · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingThe first 40 of 51. The rest are in the exhibit.
Source: Exhibit 21 of the 10-K filed 2026-03-20. These are legal entities, not brands or acquisitions — a company that bought a business may hold it inside an entity named here, or inside one small enough that the rule does not require naming it at all.
Coverage from the last 30 days
Dollar General (DG) Stock May Be A Bargain Despite SKU Cuts
Yahoo ·
Dollar General (DG) Stock Falls Amid Market Uptick: What Investors Need to Know
Yahoo ·
ExchangeRight Announces Full Subscription of $17.80 Million Net-Leased All-Cash 20 DST
Yahoo ·
Can DLTR's Multi-Price Strategy Drive Sustainable Sales Growth?
Yahoo ·
WMT, TGT & DG Bet Big on Capital Spending to Drive Next Growth Wave
Yahoo ·
Secret shoppers caught Dollar General overcharging on about 14% of items — it now owes $1.8M, and customers get nothing
Yahoo ·
Dollar General: Internal Turnaround Meets Macro Tailwinds
SeekingAlpha ·
Max Stock’s Value Retail Leadership, Store Expansion – Initiation Report
Yahoo ·
Target, Walmart, Other Discounters Make Bullish Moves Amid Plunging Yields, AI Exodus
Yahoo ·
Stock of the Day: Is Dollar General Breaking Out?
Benzinga ·
Walmart, Target, Dollar General make noticeable changes to stores
Yahoo ·
Should You Buy Costco Stock Now After Strong September Retail Sales?
Yahoo ·
Primary sources and further research