NYSE · Retail-Drug Stores and Proprietary Stores · CIK 0000064803
$96.74
+3.95% · delayed 15 min
$122.96B market value
What this company does
CVS HEALTH runs retail stores. It took in $402.07B last year, which makes it one of the largest companies in the world. Of every dollar it sells, about 0 cents is left as profit.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score 0.99
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From CVS HEALTH Corp's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +7.8%
$372.81B to $402.07B
Deteriorated: -61.7%
$4.61B to $1.77B
Improved: +23.4%
$6.33B to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$1.77B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$10.64B cash from operations
It holds more cash than debt, so borrowings are not a pressure.
$8.45B more cash than debt
It passes almost every standard check of financial strength.
Piotroski 7/8
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.84x cover on near-term bills
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z 0.99
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.3% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 0 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $1.77B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It paid out more than it earned — 192 cents for every dollar of profit. A payment above earnings has to be funded from somewhere else, so it is worth checking whether that can continue. It paid out 32% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
WeakNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $1.77B and generated $10.64B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-17 | 2026-08-13 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-05 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from CVS's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
7 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
0.99
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
5 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 7.8% last year.
No — it holds more cash than debt, with $8.45B left over after paying off every borrowing. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.42 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
Expensive. Investors pay $69.5 for every $1 of yearly profit, so a lot of future growth is already priced in.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-05 | 2026-08-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-18 | 2026-05-14 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-06 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-06 | 2026-05-06 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-04-03 | 2026-05-14 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-19 | 2026-03-18 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-10 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-10 | 2026-02-10 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-09 | 2025-12-09 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-20 | 2025-11-20 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-29 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-29 | 2025-10-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-22 | 2025-09-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-15 | 2025-08-11 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-31 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-31 | 2025-07-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-20 | 2025-05-15 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-05-01 | 2025-03-31 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Here's How CVS Is Focusing on Aetna's Profitability Turnaround
Yahoo Finance ·
CVS Health (CVS) Stock Looks Below Fair Value But Mixed After 65% Return
Yahoo Finance ·
CVS Health (CVS) Makes Updated 2026 2027 COVID 19 Vaccines Available Nationwide
Yahoo Finance ·
Jim Cramer Says “Own It, Don’t Trade It” as CVS Health Gains Momentum
Yahoo Finance ·
CVS Health (CVS) Up 1% Since Last Earnings Report: Can It Continue?
Yahoo Finance ·
Is CVS Health Outperforming the Nasdaq?
Yahoo Finance ·
Updated COVID-19 vaccines available at CVS Pharmacy and MinuteClinic across the U.S.
Yahoo Finance ·
CVS Stock Has Left Its Peers Behind. Or Has It?
Yahoo Finance ·
ExchangeRight Fully Subscribes $63.34 Million Net-Leased Portfolio 74 DST
Yahoo Finance ·
LOVB Announces CVS Pharmacy as an Official Health & Wellness Partner
Yahoo Finance ·
Here's How CVS' Improving Balance Sheet Supports Deleveraging
Yahoo Finance ·
MBody AI Orchestrator Named Finalist for AI Deployment of the Year
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research