NYSE · Crude Petroleum & Natural Gas · CIK 0001475260
$32.37
+2.50% · delayed 15 min
$60.97B market value
What this company does
CENOVUS ENERGY drills for oil and natural gas. It took in $35.96B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 8 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From CENOVUS ENERGY INC.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 40-F
Deteriorated: -8.4%
$39.27B to $35.96B
Improved: +25.1%
$2.27B to $2.84B
Improved: +2.1 pts
5.8% to 7.9%
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$2.84B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$5.95B cash from operations
Its debt is small next to the cash the business produces.
about 1.0 years of cash flow to clear
Sales are shrinking rather than growing.
down 8.4% on last year
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 2.1% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 8 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $2.84B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 37 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 17% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 3 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $2.84B and generated $5.95B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-07-29 | 2026-06-30 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-07 |
Financial figures are from CVE's 40-F for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the IFRS taxonomy. Reported in CAD and shown here in USD, the currency CVE trades in, converted at today's rate of 0.7236. The filing itself is in CAD. View the source filing.
5 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: +50.3%
$5.31B to $7.98B
Deteriorated: -11.4%
$2.24B to $1.98B
Deteriorated: +3.2%
1.82B to 1.88B
Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
No. Sales shrank 8.4% last year.
No. At its current cash flow it could clear its debt in about 1.0 years. For every $1 it owes, it owns $2.00 in assets.
Around average. Investors pay $21.4 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| 2026-05-06 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-06 | 2026-03-31 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-04-01 | 2026-04-01 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-04-01 | 2026-04-01 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-04-01 | 2026-04-01 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-02-26 | 2026-02-26 |
| Annual report (Canadian company)(40-F) | 2026-02-19 | 2025-12-31 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-02-19 | 2025-12-31 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-02-19 | 2026-02-19 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-02-10 | 2026-02-10 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-12-11 | 2025-12-11 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-12-01 | 2025-11-28 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-11-21 | 2025-11-20 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-11-19 | 2025-11-19 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-11-19 | 2025-11-18 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-11-13 | 2025-11-13 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-11-07 | 2025-11-07 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-10-31 | 2025-09-30 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-10-27 | 2025-10-27 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
How Cenovus' Low-Cost Base and Downstream Integration Offer Resilience
Yahoo Finance ·
Cenovus vs. Phillips 66: Which Energy Stock Is the Better Buy?
Yahoo Finance ·
Are High Oil Prices a Tailwind for Cenovus Energy's Business?
Yahoo Finance ·
Does Cenovus Have a Clear Path to Achieve Nearly 1.1 MMBoe/d by 2028?
Yahoo Finance ·
Cenovus Energy is Undervalued: Should You Bet on the Stock Now?
Yahoo Finance ·
CVE Rallies 13.7% in the Past Month. Can the Stock Keep Climbing?
Yahoo Finance ·
Cenovus (CVE) Q2 2026 Earnings Call Transcript
Yahoo Finance ·
Nvidia, ASML Lead Five Stocks Near Buy Points With Roaring Growth
Yahoo Finance ·
Suncor Energy (SU) Up 8.9% Since Last Earnings Report: Can It Continue?
Yahoo Finance ·
Don't Miss These 3 Companies Delivering Strong Guidance Updates
Yahoo Finance ·
Cenovus (CVE) Enters the Ranks of the World’s Largest Oil and Gas Producers
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Is Cenovus (CVE) Up 4.6% Since Last Earnings Report?
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research