NYSE · Fire, Marine & Casualty Insurance · CIK 0000896159
$341.59
+0.49% · delayed 15 min
$133.60B market value
What this company does
Chubb sells insurance. It took in $59.40B last year, which makes it a very large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 17 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From Chubb Ltd's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +6.5%
$55.75B to $59.40B
Improved: +11.2%
$9.27B to $10.31B
Deteriorated: +9.4%
$14.38B to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$10.31B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$12.82B cash from operations
It passes almost every standard check of financial strength.
Piotroski 6/7
Nothing in the filings stands out as a concern.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.0% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 17 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $10.31B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 15 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 12% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $10.31B and generated $12.82B of cash from operations.
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-28 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-21 | 2026-07-21 |
Financial figures are from CB's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
6 of 7 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 2 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: -2.4%
400.7M to 391.1M
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 6.5% last year.
For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.41 in assets. Banks and insurers always carry high debt — that is how lending works — so this is normal for the industry and not comparable with other sectors.
On the cheaper side. Investors pay $13.0 for every $1 of yearly profit.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
At a glance
Reported annual figures
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-10 | 2026-06-10 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-22 | 2026-05-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-20 | 2026-05-20 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-28 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-21 | 2026-04-21 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-04-03 | 2026-05-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-11 | 2026-03-10 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-27 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-03 | 2026-02-03 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-08 | 2025-12-08 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-04 | 2025-11-04 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-27 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-21 | 2025-10-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-06 | 2025-08-06 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-28 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-22 | 2025-07-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-16 | 2025-05-15 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-04-28 | 2025-03-31 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Chubb (CB) Puts Alexis Obligi In Charge Of Personal Lines Across EMEA
Yahoo Finance ·
Chubb (CB) Outpaces Stock Market Gains: What You Should Know
Yahoo Finance ·
Insurers Are Buying Back More Stock as Pricing Softens
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Chubb Limited Stock Outperforming the S&P 500?
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Is Chubb (CB) Down 0.7% Since Last Earnings Report?
Yahoo Finance ·
Chubb (CB) Stock Could Be 48% Undervalued On Long Term Cash Flow
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Chubb (CB) Fairly Valued On Its Dividend Decision?
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Wall Street Bullish or Bearish on Chubb Limited Stock?
Yahoo Finance ·
Commercial Insurance Global Market Outlook Report, 2026-2031 - Profiles Allianz, AXA, Chubb, Zurich, and 16 Other Companies
Yahoo Finance ·
2 S&P 500 Stocks with Promising Prospects and 1 We Ignore
Yahoo Finance ·
Chubb (CB) Stock Could Be 48% Below Fair Value On Equity Returns
Yahoo Finance ·
CB Stock Trades at 1.62x Book Value: Is the Valuation Worth It?
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research