NYSE · Drilling Oil & Gas Wells · CIK 0001279495
$4.86
+2.53% · delayed 15 min
$3.72B market value
What this company does
BAYTEX ENERGY provides services to oil and gas drillers. It took in $1.07B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. It spends more than it earns — losing about 41 cents on every dollar of sales.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score 0.34
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
Significant financial weakness across most measures.
From BAYTEX ENERGY CORP.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 40-F
Deteriorated: -8.2%
$1.17B to $1.07B
Deteriorated: turned negative
$171.2M to -$436.9M
Deteriorated: −55.4 pts
14.7% to
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$1.08B cash from operations
It loses money, so it depends on cash reserves or new funding to keep going.
$436.9M lost last year
Sales are shrinking rather than growing.
down 8.2% on last year
It keeps less of each sale as profit than it did a year ago.
14.7% → -40.8%
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z 0.34
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 2.9% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
No. It lost $436.9M last year, losing about 41 cents on every dollar of sales.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It paid a dividend while making a loss, so the payment did not come out of profits — it came from reserves, borrowing or asset sales. It paid out 5% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 3 years.
WeakNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it lost $436.9M and generated $1.08B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-08-05 | 2026-08-05 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-07-31 |
Financial figures are from BTE's 40-F for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the IFRS taxonomy. Reported in CAD and shown here in USD, the currency BTE trades in, converted at today's rate of 0.7236. The filing itself is in CAD. View the source filing.
5 of 7 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 2 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
0.34
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +5638.2%
$12.0M to $689.6M
Improved: -1.0%
773.6M to 765.6M
Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
No. Sales shrank 8.2% last year.
It does not appear so. For every $1 it owes, it owns $3.50 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
It has no profits to compare a price against, because it lost money last year.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| 2026-06-30 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-07-24 | 2026-07-23 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-06-26 | 2026-06-26 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-06-26 | 2026-06-26 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-12 | 2026-03-31 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-08 | 2026-05-07 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-08 | 2026-03-31 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-01 | 2026-04-30 |
| Interim update (foreign company) (amended)(6-K/A) | 2026-04-09 | 2026-03-20 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-04-07 | 2026-03-20 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-03-10 | 2026-03-10 |
| Annual report (Canadian company)(40-F) | 2026-03-05 | 2025-12-31 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-03-05 | 2025-12-31 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-02-25 | 2026-02-25 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-02-23 | 2026-02-23 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-02-02 | 2026-02-02 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-12-23 | 2025-12-22 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-12-22 | 2025-12-22 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-12-22 | 2025-12-19 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Is Baytex Energy (BTE) Stock Outpacing Its Oils-Energy Peers This Year?
Yahoo Finance ·
All You Need to Know About Baytex (BTE) Rating Upgrade to Buy
Yahoo Finance ·
Baytex Energy Eyes Duvernay Growth After Eagle Ford Sale, Ramps Up Buybacks
Yahoo Finance ·
Baytex Energy (BTE) Q2 2026 Earnings Call Transcript
Yahoo Finance ·
Here's Why a Hold Strategy Is Apt for Canadian Natural Stock Now
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Baytex Energy (BTE) Outperforming Other Oils-Energy Stocks This Year?
Yahoo Finance ·
Will Higher 2026 Output and Heavy Buybacks Change Baytex Energy's (TSX:BTE) Narrative?
Yahoo Finance ·
Following Results And Higher Guidance, Is Baytex Energy (TSX:BTE) Still Undervalued?
Yahoo Finance ·
Baytex Energy Corp (BTE) (Q2 2026) Earnings Call Highlights: Production Beats Guidance, ...
Yahoo Finance ·
EnerCom Announces SM Energy as a Keynote Speaker at the 31st EnerCom Denver - The Energy Investment Conference, on August 19, 2026, in Denver, Colorado
Yahoo Finance ·
Baytex Energy Corp. Q2 2026 Earnings Call Summary
Yahoo Finance ·
Baytex Energy (BTE) Tops Q2 Earnings and Revenue Estimates
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research