NYSE · Fire, Marine & Casualty Insurance · CIK 0001067983
What this company does
BERKSHIRE HATHAWAY sells insurance. It took in $247.24B last year, which makes it one of the largest companies in the world. Of every dollar it sells, about 27 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From BERKSHIRE HATHAWAY INC's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Deteriorated: -24.8%
$89.00B to $66.97B
Deteriorated: −8.6 pts
35.6% to 27.1%
Improved: +115.6%
$11.62B to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$66.97B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$45.97B cash from operations
Sales are shrinking rather than growing.
down 1.0% on last year
It keeps less of each sale as profit than it did a year ago.
35.6% → 27.1%
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 27 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $66.97B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $66.97B and generated $45.97B of cash from operations.
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Nothing recent
No insider trades, pending-sale notices or 5% stake filings from BRK.B in the last few months. That is the ordinary case, not a gap.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-11 | 2026-08-08 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-10 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from BRK.B's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
2 of 5 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 4 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +8.7%
$48.38B to $52.57B
Changed: +10.3%
$18.98B to $20.93B
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
No. Sales shrank 1.0% last year.
For every $1 it owes, it owns $2.43 in assets. Banks and insurers always carry high debt — that is how lending works — so this is normal for the industry and not comparable with other sectors.
No share price is available, so this company cannot be valued here. Valuation needs a price source — see the setup notes for adding a free key.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
At a glance
Reported annual figures
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-07 | 2026-05-02 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-04 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-16 | 2026-04-16 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-13 | 2026-05-02 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-05 | 2026-03-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-02 | 2026-02-28 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-03-02 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement (amended)(8-K/A) | 2026-01-06 | 2025-05-03 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-11 | 2025-12-08 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-21 | 2025-11-20 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-03 | 2025-11-01 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-11-03 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-03 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-04 | 2025-08-02 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-08-04 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-08 | 2025-05-03 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-06 | 2025-05-03 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-05-05 | 2025-03-31 |
Announcements the company filed itself, from the last 30 days
Primary sources and further research