NASDAQ NMS - GLOBAL MARKET · Banking · CIK 0001275101
$29.73
+2.93% · live
Updated
$135.1M market value
From BANK OF THE JAMES FINANCIAL GROUP INC's FY2025 10-K, filed Mar 27, 2026 · read the filing
BANK OF THE JAMES FINANCIAL takes deposits and lends money. It took in $4.3M last year, which makes it a small company. Of every dollar it sells, about 211 cents is left as profit.
The financial picture is led by profitability, with growth and debt worth watching.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From BANK OF THE JAMES FINANCIAL GROUP INC's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2025
Profit margin
198.5% → 211.1%
Free cash flow
$6.0M → $10.5M
Capital spending
$2.5M → $1.2M
Cash
$73.3M → $84.5M
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K filed Mar 27, 2026
Improved: +12.7 pts
198.5% to 211.1%Critical
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
How the latest move compares (quote live), and what was published around it
BOTJ rose 2.93% on the latest quote. The average Financials company tracked here moved −1.33%, and the S&P 500 −0.47%. That is 4.3 points above its sector and 3.4 points above the market.
No filing from BOTJ and no news item about it appeared in the last 3 days.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week — or compare against peers
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 0.3% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 211 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $9.0M last year.
Slowly. Sales grew 6.7% last year.
For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.08 in assets. Banks and insurers always carry high debt — that is how lending works — so this is normal for the industry and not comparable with other sectors.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 20 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 16% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodFigures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $9.0M and generated $11.7M of cash from operations.
As reported to the SEC, in USD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY202510-K · Mar 27, 2026Filing for FY2025 | FY202410-K · Mar 27, 2026Filing for FY2024 | FY202310-K · Mar 27, 2024Filing for FY2023 | FY202210-K · Mar 31, 2023Filing for FY2022 | FY202110-K · Mar 31, 2023Filing for FY2021 | ChangeFY2025 vs FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueWhat is this? | $4.3M | $4.0M | $3.9M | $3.6M | $2.5M | +6.7% |
| Interest expense | — | — | $9.6M | $2.1M | $2.1M | — |
| Income before tax | $11.1M | $9.9M | $10.3M | $11.1M | $9.5M | +12.3% |
| Net income | $9.0M | $7.9M | $8.7M | $9.0M | $7.6M | +13.6% |
| Net marginNet income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 211.1% | 198.5% | 223.1% | 249.5% | 304.0% | +12.7 pts |
| Earnings per shareNet income ÷ shares outstanding at the period end — close to, but not the same as, the reported EPSWhat is this? | $1.99 | $1.75 | $1.92 | $1.94 | $1.60 | +13.6% |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
This company's latest filing beside its peers' stored scores
| Company | Health | F-Score | Revenue growth | Profit margin | P/E | Debt to equity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BOTJBANK OF THE JAMES FINANCIAL GROUP INC · this page | 7.3/10 | 6/6 | 6.7% | 211.1% | 14.97x | 11.98x |
| TFCTRUIST FINANCIAL CORP |
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Officers, directors and major shareholders must report within two business days of a trade.
Bought on the open market — 100 shares at $27.05 ($2.7K)
Holds 13,700 shares after this filing.
Bought on the open market — 70 shares at $27.21 ($1.9K)
Holds 19,791 shares after this filing.
20 recent filings, newest first. Each is labelled from its form and item numbers, not from its wording.
Quarterly report for Q2 FY2026
Revenue +17.8% · Profit margin +4.7 pts · Cash -54.4% — against Q2 FY2025
Read the filingPublished results · Reported another event
Read the filingWrite down why you are following BANK OF THE JAMES FINANCIAL GROUP INC, what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to a filing in the timeline, each linked to the document itself.
The 4 subsidiaries named in its 10-K. A filer lists the significant ones and may leave the rest out, so this is the floor rather than the full count.
Source: Exhibit 21 of the 10-K filed 2026-03-27. These are legal entities, not brands or acquisitions — a company that bought a business may hold it inside an entity named here, or inside one small enough that the rule does not require naming it at all.
Coverage from the last 30 days
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from BOTJ's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31, filed Mar 27, 2026), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
3 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. Accounting had too few reported figures and is left out of the average rather than counted as a weakness, so a company is never marked down for a figure it did not publish. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 6 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Each year scored only from its annual report as it was first filed
| Fiscal year | Health | F-Score | Scored from |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | 7.3 | 6/6 | 10-K, filed Mar 27, 2026 |
| FY2024 | 7.3 | 5/6 | 10-K, filed Mar 26, 2025 |
| FY2023 | 7.3 | 5/6 | 10-K, filed Mar 27, 2024 |
| FY2022 | 8.7 | 6/6 | 10-K, filed Mar 31, 2023 |
| FY2021 | 8.7 | 5/6 | 10-K, filed Mar 29, 2022 |
| FY2020 | 7.3 | 4/6 | 10-K, filed Mar 29, 2021 |
A later restatement never reaches back into an earlier year, and every year is scored without a share price, so the latest point can differ a little from the headline score, which uses today's price.
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
6 of 6 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 3 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +76.1%
$6.0M to $10.5MCritical
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
Changed: -54.3%
$2.5M to $1.2MCritical
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
Improved: +15.2%
$73.3M to $84.5MSignificant
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: +6.7%
$4.0M to $4.3MNotable
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Improved: +13.6%
$7.9M to $9.0MNotable
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +13.6%
$1.75 to $1.99Notable
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025, from the 10-Q filed Aug 12, 2026 — read it.
Deteriorated: -54.4%
$77.9M to $35.5MCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: +17.8%
$975.0K to $1.1MSignificant
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Improved: +19.8%
$2.7M to $3.2MSignificant
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +4.7 pts
277.3% to 282.0%Significant
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: +19.8%
$0.60 to $0.71Significant
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026, from the 10-Q filed Aug 12, 2026 — read it. Quarter-to-quarter moves include seasonal swings — a retailer's holiday quarter — which the year-earlier comparison removes.
Deteriorated: -59.6%
$88.0M to $35.5MCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: +15.6%
$994.0K to $1.1MSignificant
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Improved: +16.8%
$2.8M to $3.2MSignificant
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +16.8%
$0.61 to $0.71Significant
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +2.9 pts
279.1% to 282.0%Notable
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
The trailing P/E is 11.8x — investors pay $11.8 for each $1 of trailing profit.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Reported annual figures
| 5/6 |
| — |
| — |
| 11.52x |
| 7.40x |
| Median of peers | 8.0/10 | — | — | — | 11.52x | 7.40x |
|---|
Peers come from the company's industry classification. A difference describes the companies; it does not rank them.
Bought on the open market — 650 shares at $27.10 ($17.6K)
Holds 78,366 shares after this filing.
Bought on the open market — 447 shares at $28.01 ($12.5K)
Holds 126,360 shares after this filing.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Held a shareholder vote
Quarterly report for Q1 FY2026
Profit margin +193.2 pts · Profit +229.5% · Free cash flow +2990.1% — against Q1 FY2025
Read the filingPublished results · Reported another event
Read the filingProxy statement for a shareholder meeting
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2025
Revenue +6.7% · Profit margin +12.7 pts · Free cash flow +76.1% — against FY2024
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q3 FY2025
Revenue +5.5% · Profit margin +62.3 pts · Profit +38.3% — against Q3 FY2024
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingPublished results · Reported another event
Read the filingSigned a material agreement · Took on a direct financial obligation
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q2 FY2025
Profit margin +59.5 pts · Profit +25.9% · Earnings per share +25.9% — against Q2 FY2024
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingHeld a shareholder vote
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2025
Profit margin −143.8 pts · Profit -61.5% · Free cash flow turned positive — against Q1 FY2024
Read the filingBank of the James Q2 Earnings Gain Y/Y on Loan Growth, Lower Costs
Yahoo Finance ·
BOTJ vs. CFFI: Which Regional Bank Stock Looks More Attractive Now?
Yahoo Finance ·
Uncovering US Market's 3 Undiscovered Gems With Potential
Yahoo Finance ·
US Undiscovered Gems to Watch in May 2026
Yahoo Finance ·
Undiscovered Gems in the US Market for May 2026
Yahoo Finance ·
Bank of the James Announces Second Quarter of 2026 and First Half of 2026 Financial Results and Declaration of Dividend
Yahoo Finance ·
Exploring 3 Undervalued Small Caps With Insider Buying Across Regions
Yahoo Finance ·
Undiscovered Gems In The US Market 3 Promising Small Caps With Strong Potential
Yahoo Finance ·
US Undiscovered Gems To Watch In May 2026
Yahoo Finance ·
Discover 3 Undiscovered Gems in the US Market
Yahoo Finance ·
US Undiscovered Gems To Explore In May 2026
Yahoo Finance ·
Undiscovered Gems in the US Market to Explore This May 2026
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research