TSX
C$130.72
+1.16% · delayed ~15 min
Updated
C$161.61B market value
From Bank of Nova Scotia's FY2025 annual-report
It took in C$37.10B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 21 cents is left as profit.
The financial picture is led by profitability, with growth worth watching, while debt remain weak.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From Bank of Nova Scotia's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2025
Free cash flow
C$15.16B → C$5.06B
Capital spending
C$489.0M → C$347.0M
Revenue
C$33.62B → C$37.10B
Profit margin
23.1% → 21.0%
Measured against FY2024, from the annual-report
Deteriorated: -66.6%
C$15.16B to C$5.06BCritical
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
How the latest move compares (quote delayed ~15 min), and what was published around it
BNS.TO rose 1.16% on the latest quote. The S&P/TSX Composite moved −0.45%. That is 1.6 points above the market.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 21 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning C$7.79B last year.
Slowly. Sales grew 10.4% last year.
Yes. Clearing its debt would take roughly 45.5 years of cash flow. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.06 in assets.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned C$7.79B and generated C$5.41B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
As reported to the SEC, in CAD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY2025annual-report | FY2024annual-report | FY2023annual-report | FY2022annual-report | ChangeFY2025 vs FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueWhat is this? | C$37.10B | C$33.62B | C$31.69B | C$31.51B | +10.4% |
| Selling, general and administrative | C$11.50B | C$10.47B | C$10.17B | C$9.32B | +9.8% |
| Interest expense | C$36.08B | C$42.41B | C$38.56B | C$15.44B | −14.9% |
| Income before tax | C$10.51B | C$9.92B | C$9.67B | C$12.93B | +5.9% |
| Net income | C$7.79B | C$7.76B | C$7.34B | C$9.92B | +0.4% |
| Net marginNet income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 21.0% | 23.1% | 23.2% | 31.5% | −2.1 pts |
| Earnings per shareNet income ÷ shares outstanding at the period end — close to, but not the same as, the reported EPSWhat is this? | C$6.30 | C$6.23 | C$6.04 | C$8.32 | +1.1% |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Write down why you are following Bank of Nova Scotia, what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
No filings found
This company has no recent filings indexed on EDGAR.
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from BNS.TO's annual-report for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-10-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy.
3 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. Accounting had too few reported figures and is left out of the average rather than counted as a weakness, so a company is never marked down for a figure it did not publish. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 7 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
6 of 7 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 2 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Changed: -29.0%
C$489.0M to C$347.0MSignificant
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
Improved: +10.4%
C$33.62B to C$37.10BNotable
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Deteriorated: −2.1 pts
23.1% to 21.0%Notable
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
5 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
The trailing P/E is 20.7x — investors pay $20.7 for each $1 of trailing profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Bombardier (TSX:BBD.B) Stock Gets Fair Value Trim As Analysts Fine Tune Price Targets
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research