NASDAQ NMS - GLOBAL MARKET · Banking · CIK 0001649739
$6.88
+0.44% · live
Updated
$185.5M market value
From BayFirst Financial Corp.'s FY2025 10-K/A, filed Aug 12, 2026 · read the filing
BayFirst Financial takes deposits and lends money.
The financial picture is mixed, with debt needing attention and profitability weaker.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
Said previously published accounts cannot be relied on, in a filing on 2026-07-15.
Form 8-K, item 4.02 · Read the filing
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
Several areas of financial weakness.
From BayFirst Financial Corp.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2025
Profit
$10.2M → -$24.6M
Earnings per share
$2.47 → -$5.98
Cash
$77.8M → $207.0M
Dividends paid
$1.3M → $663.0K
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K/A filed Aug 12, 2026
Deteriorated: turned negative
$10.2M to -$24.6MCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
How the latest move compares (quote live), and what was published around it
BAFN rose 0.44% on the latest quote. The average Financials company tracked here moved −1.33%, and the S&P 500 −0.47%. That is 1.8 points above its sector and 0.9 points above the market.
No filing from BAFN and no news item about it appeared in the last 3 days.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week — or compare against peers
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 15.8% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
No. It lost $24.6M last year.
Not enough history has been reported to judge growth.
For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.07 in assets. Banks and insurers always carry high debt — that is how lending works — so this is normal for the industry and not comparable with other sectors.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It paid a dividend while making a loss, so the payment did not come out of profits — it came from reserves, borrowing or asset sales. It paid out 0% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 6 years.
WeakFigures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it lost $24.6M and generated $288.8M of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
As reported to the SEC, in USD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY202510-K/A · Aug 12, 2026Filing for FY2025 | FY202410-K/A · Aug 12, 2026Filing for FY2024 | FY202310-K · Aug 12, 2026Filing for FY2023 | FY202210-K · Mar 28, 2023Filing for FY2022 | FY202110-K · Mar 28, 2023Filing for FY2021 | ChangeFY2025 vs FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Interest expense | $2.3M | $1.9M | $32.1M | $8.6M | $7.3M | +18.7% |
| Income before tax | -$33.0M | $13.8M | $8.0M | $7.0M | $11.7M | n/m |
| Net income | -$24.6M | $10.2M | $5.7M | -$349.0K | $24.6M | n/m |
| Earnings per shareNet income ÷ shares outstanding at the period end — close to, but not the same as, the reported EPSWhat is this? | $-5.98 | $2.47 | $1.39 | $-0.0863 | $6.18 | n/m |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Officers, directors and major shareholders must report within two business days of a trade.
Reported another kind of transaction — 3,021 shares at $3.50 ($10.6K)
Holds 5,975 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 21,939 shares at $3.50 ($76.8K)
Holds 43,867 shares after this filing.
20 recent filings, newest first. Each is labelled from its form and item numbers, not from its wording.
Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingWrite down why you are following BayFirst Financial Corp., what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to a filing in the timeline, each linked to the document itself.
Coverage from the last 30 days
Primary sources and further research
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from BAFN's 10-K/A for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31, filed Aug 12, 2026), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
2 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. Growth and Accounting had too few reported figures and are left out of the average rather than counted as a weakness, so a company is never marked down for a figure it did not publish. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 5 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Each year scored only from its annual report as it was first filed
| Fiscal year | Health | F-Score | Scored from |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | 4.0 | 3/5 | 10-K/A, filed Aug 12, 2026 |
| FY2024 | 8.0 | 5/5 | 10-K/A, filed Aug 12, 2026 |
| FY2023 | 8.0 | 5/5 | 10-K, filed Mar 28, 2024 |
| FY2022 | 4.0 | 3/5 | 10-K, filed Mar 28, 2023 |
| FY2021 | 8.0 | 4/5 | 10-K, filed Mar 31, 2022 |
| FY2020 | 6.0 | 1/3 | 10-K, filed Mar 31, 2022 |
A later restatement never reaches back into an earlier year, and every year is scored without a share price, so the latest point can differ a little from the headline score, which uses today's price.
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
3 of 5 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 4 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: turned negative
$2.47 to -$5.98Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +166.1%
$77.8M to $207.0MCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Changed: -49.9%
$1.3M to $663.0KCritical
Why it matters: Cash handed to shareholders. A rise can be a higher dividend or simply more shares, and a cut is a decision the company explains in its own filing — neither is rated here.
Changed: -82.2%
$1.7M to $300.0KCritical
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
Deteriorated: -26.3%
$391.7M to $288.5MSignificant
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2026, from the 10-Q filed Aug 14, 2026 — read it.
Deteriorated: $30.8M wider
-$1.9M to -$32.7MCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Deteriorated: $7.51 wider
-$0.45 to -$7.95Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +80.0%
$77.3M to $139.2MCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026, from the 10-Q filed Aug 14, 2026 — read it. Quarter-to-quarter moves include seasonal swings — a retailer's holiday quarter — which the year-earlier comparison removes.
Deteriorated: $26.7M wider
-$5.9M to -$32.7MCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Deteriorated: $6.51 wider
-$1.44 to -$7.95Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Trailing P/E is not meaningful because the latest trailing earnings are zero or negative. The price-to-book and price-to-sales figures below still provide reference points.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Reported another kind of transaction — 33,575 shares at $3.50 ($117.5K)
Holds 69,315 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 214,908 shares at $3.50 ($752.2K)
Holds 429,719 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 16,217 shares at $3.50 ($56.8K)
Holds 32,434 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 6,596 shares at $3.50 ($23.1K)
Holds 13,192 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 48,697 shares at $3.50 ($170.4K)
Holds 97,394 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 749,535 shares at $3.50 ($2.6M)
Holds 12,177,535 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 11,006 shares at $3.50 ($38.5K)
Holds 23,145 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 43,711 shares at $3.50 ($153.0K)
Holds 87,323 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 2,206 shares at $3.50 ($7.7K)
Holds 5,531 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 5,096 shares at $3.50 ($17.8K)
Holds 10,081 shares after this filing.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Held a shareholder vote
Reported another event
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingRegistration statement for an offering of securities
Read the filingRegistration statement for an offering of securities
Read the filingRegistration statement for an offering of securities
Read the filingRegistration statement for an offering of securities
Read the filingProxy statement for a shareholder meeting
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q2 FY2026
Profit $30.8M wider · Earnings per share $7.51 wider · Cash +80.0% — against Q2 FY2026
Read the filingPublished results · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingRegistration statement for an offering of securities
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2026
Profit $5.0M wider · Free cash flow turned negative · Earnings per share $1.22 wider — against Q1 FY2026
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2025
Profit turned negative · Earnings per share turned negative · Cash +166.1% — against FY2024
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingChanged control of the company · Amended its charter or changed its financial year · Held a shareholder vote
Read the filingSaid previously published accounts cannot be relied on · Published results
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filing