TORONTO STOCK EXCHANGE · Utilities · CIK 0001174169
$5.45
+2.64% · live
Updated
$4.19B market value
From ALGONQUIN POWER & UTILITIES CORP.'s FY2025 40-F, filed Mar 6, 2026 · read the filing
ALGONQUIN POWER & UTILITIES supplies electricity, gas or water. It took in $2.43B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 7 cents is left as profit.
The financial picture is mixed, with profitability and growth needing attention and debt weaker.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range. This is a statistical reading, not a forecast.
Altman Z-Score 0.07
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From ALGONQUIN POWER & UTILITIES CORP.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2025
Profit
-$1.38B → $180.8M
Profit margin
-59.5% → 7.4%
Free cash flow
-$390.7M → -$178.3M
Earnings per share
-$1.80 → $0.24
Measured against FY2024, from the 40-F filed Mar 6, 2026
Improved: turned positive
-$1.38B to $180.8MCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
How the latest move compares (quote live), and what was published around it
AQN rose 2.64% on the latest quote. The average Utilities company tracked here moved +1.70%, and the S&P 500 −1.04%. That is 0.9 points above its sector and 3.7 points above the market.
No filing from AQN and no news item about it appeared in the last 3 days.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week — or compare against peers
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Opinions from 14 analysts covering this company, as of . Their views, not this site's.
Of 14 analysts publishing on this company, 1 say strong buy, 6 say buy and 7 say hold. Analysts are paid to publish a view and are wrong often; the split above says how much they agree with each other, which is the part a single headline rating hides.
Published by Finnhub. Analyst coverage skews towards larger companies and towards optimism — sell ratings are rare across the whole market, so a company with none is ordinary rather than endorsed.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 7 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $180.8M last year. Note that after $771.9M of spending on property and equipment, it consumed $178.3M more cash than it generated.
Slowly. Sales grew 4.9% last year.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It paid out more than it earned — 111 cents for every dollar of profit. A payment above earnings has to be funded from somewhere else, so it is worth checking whether that can continue. It paid out 34% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 9 years.
WeakNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $180.8M and generated $593.6M of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
As reported to the SEC, in USD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY202540-F · Mar 6, 2026Filing for FY2025 | FY202440-F · Mar 6, 2026Filing for FY2024 | FY202340-F · Mar 7, 2025Filing for FY2023 | FY202240-F · Mar 8, 2024Filing for FY2022 | FY202140-F/A · Mar 17, 2023Filing for FY2021 | ChangeFY2025 vs FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueWhat is this? | $2.43B | $2.32B | $2.40B | $2.77B | $2.27B | +4.9% |
| Selling, general and administrative | — | — | $90.4M | $80.2M | $66.7M | — |
| Operating income | $504.7M | $446.1M | $467.3M | $402.0M | $413.1M | +13.1% |
| Operating marginOperating income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 20.7% | 19.2% | 19.4% | 14.5% | 18.2% | +1.5 pts |
| Interest expense | $282.5M | $363.6M | $308.4M | $278.6M | $209.6M | −22.3% |
| Income before tax | $211.0M | $177.2M | -$62.1M | -$369.7M | $142.2M | +19.1% |
| Net income | $180.8M | -$1.38B | $28.7M | -$212.0M | $264.9M | n/m |
| Net marginNet income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 7.4% | -59.5% | 1.2% | -7.7% | 11.6% | +66.9 pts |
| Earnings per shareNet income ÷ shares outstanding at the period end — close to, but not the same as, the reported EPSWhat is this? | $0.2353 | $-1.80 | $0.0416 | $-0.3101 | $0.3942 | n/m |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
Others in the same industry
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
20 recent filings, newest first. Each is labelled from its form and item numbers, not from its wording.
Report filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingWrite down why you are following ALGONQUIN POWER & UTILITIES CORP., what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to a filing in the timeline, each linked to the document itself.
Coverage from the last 30 days
The Most Important Dividend Investing Lesson I've Ever Learned
SeekingAlpha ·
The Only Dividend Stocks I Would Bet My Retirement On
SeekingAlpha ·
NUE Power Corp. CEO Provides Corporate Update Outlining Priorities Under New Leadership Team
Yahoo ·
Barclays Maintains Overweight on Algonquin Power, Lowers Price Target to $6
Benzinga ·
Is Algonquin’s (AQN) Strategic Pivot Built for Long-Term Value?
Yahoo ·
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from AQN's 40-F for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31, filed Mar 6, 2026), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
3 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. Accounting had too few reported figures and is left out of the average rather than counted as a weakness, so a company is never marked down for a figure it did not publish. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 8 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Each year scored only from its annual report as it was first filed
| Fiscal year | Health | F-Score | Scored from |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | 4.7 | 7/8 | 40-F, filed Mar 6, 2026 |
| FY2024 | 2.0 | 5/8 | 40-F, filed Mar 6, 2026 |
| FY2023 | 3.3 | 5/8 | 40-F, filed Mar 8, 2024 |
| FY2022 | 4.7 | 5/8 | 40-F, filed Mar 17, 2023 |
| FY2021 | 6.0 | 3/8 | 40-F, filed Mar 4, 2022 |
| FY2020 | 5.0 | 5/9 | 40-F, filed Mar 5, 2021 |
A later restatement never reaches back into an earlier year, and every year is scored without a share price, so the latest point can differ a little from the headline score, which uses today's price.
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
7 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
0.07
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +67.0 pts
-59.5% to 7.4%Critical
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: $212.4M narrower
-$390.7M to -$178.3MCritical
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
Improved: turned positive
-$1.80 to $0.24Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Changed: -29.4%
$285.1M to $201.3MSignificant
Why it matters: Cash handed to shareholders. A rise can be a higher dividend or simply more shares, and a cut is a decision the company explains in its own filing — neither is rated here.
Improved: +13.1%
$446.1M to $504.7MNotable
Why it matters: Profit from running the business, before interest and tax. Less exposed than profit to one-off financing and tax items, so a clearer read on the business itself.
Improved: +1.5 pts
19.2% to 20.7%Notable
Why it matters: What survives each sale after running the business. A falling operating margin beside a steady gross margin points at overheads — wages, marketing, research — rather than pricing.
Deteriorated: -6.0%
$34.8M to $32.7MNotable
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Changed: -11.5%
$872.4M to $771.9MNotable
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
3 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.9% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Yes. Clearing its debt would take roughly 11.0 years of cash flow. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.49 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
The trailing P/E is 23.2x — investors pay $23.2 for each $1 of trailing profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Report filed on Form 6-K
Report filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2025
Operating margin +1.5 pts · Profit turned positive · Profit margin +67.0 pts — against FY2024
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingPrimary sources and further research