NYSE · Retail-Auto Dealers & Gasoline Stations · CIK 0000350698
$212.36
+6.13% · delayed 15 min
$7.48B market value
What this company does
AUTONATION sells cars and fuel. It took in $27.63B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 2 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From AUTONATION, INC.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Deteriorated: -6.2%
$692.2M to $649.1M
Deteriorated: $183.7M wider
-$13.8M to -$197.5M
Improved: -9.7%
39.0M to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$649.1M earned last year
Its debt is small next to the cash the business produces.
about 1.3 years of cash flow to clear
Reported profit is running well ahead of the cash actually coming in.
$649.1M profit vs $111.9M cash
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.84x cover on near-term bills
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 5.7% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 2 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $649.1M last year. Note that after $309.4M of spending on property and equipment, it consumed $197.5M more cash than it generated.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $649.1M and generated $111.9M of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Nothing recent
No insider trades, pending-sale notices or 5% stake filings from AN in the last few months. That is the ordinary case, not a gap.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-31 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-31 | 2026-07-31 |
Financial figures are from AN's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
5 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
1.73
In the grey zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Changed: -5.8%
$328.5M to $309.4M
4 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 3.2% last year.
No. At its current cash flow it could clear its debt in about 1.3 years. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.19 in assets.
On the cheaper side. Investors pay $11.5 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-01 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-01 | 2026-05-01 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-29 | 2026-04-28 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-17 | 2026-04-28 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-12 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-06 | 2026-02-06 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-14 | 2025-11-10 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-31 | 2025-10-31 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-23 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-23 | 2025-10-23 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-25 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-25 | 2025-07-25 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-21 | 2025-05-21 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-04-25 | 2025-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-04-25 | 2025-04-25 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-04-24 | 2025-04-23 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2025-03-12 | 2025-04-23 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-02-24 | 2025-02-19 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Is AutoNation (AN) A Bargain Following Its Strong 90 Day Run?
Yahoo Finance ·
AutoNation (AN) Q2 2026 Earnings Call Transcript
Yahoo Finance ·
The Half Of Phinia's Outlook That Actually Buys Back Stock
Yahoo Finance ·
Here's Why You Should Retain AutoNation Stock in Your Portfolio
Yahoo Finance ·
Carvana Jumps 5% as Risk Appetite Returns to High-Beta Names; CarMax and Lithia Motors Inch Higher
Yahoo Finance ·
Carvana Drops 7% With Bulls, Bears Split Over the Business Model
Yahoo Finance ·
Major Franchise Auto Dealers' 2027 Earnings Could Take Hit if Downside Scenario Plays Out, UBS Says
Yahoo Finance ·
SAH Q2 Earnings Beat Estimates, EchoPark Total Unit Sales Rise 16%
Yahoo Finance ·
PAG Q2 Earnings Beat Estimates on Auto Sales and Service Growth
Yahoo Finance ·
AN Q2 Earnings Beat as After-Sales Unit Hits Record Gross Profit
Yahoo Finance ·
The Takeover Case for OPLN: A Digital Powerhouse Hiding in Plain Sight
Yahoo Finance ·
AutoNation, Inc. Q2 2026 Earnings Call Summary
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research