NYSE · State Commercial Banks · CIK 0000040729
$43.73
+3.67% · delayed 15 min
$13.49B market value
What this company does
Ally Financial takes deposits and lends money. It took in $1.24B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 68 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From Ally Financial Inc.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +27.5%
$668.0M to $852.0M
Improved: +12.7 pts
55.8% to 68.5%
Deteriorated: +13.7%
$12.68B
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$852.0M earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$3.73B cash from operations
It passes almost every standard check of financial strength.
Piotroski 6/7
Nothing in the filings stands out as a concern.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 4.2% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 68 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $852.0M last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 44 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 10% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $852.0M and generated $3.73B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-23 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-21 | 2026-07-21 |
Financial figures are from ALLY's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
6 of 7 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 2 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: +1.0%
305.4M to 308.5M
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 3.8% last year.
For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.09 in assets. Banks and insurers always carry high debt — that is how lending works — so this is normal for the industry and not comparable with other sectors.
Around average. Investors pay $15.8 for every $1 of yearly profit.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-20 | 2026-05-19 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-08 | 2026-05-06 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-05 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-01 | 2026-04-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-27 | 2026-04-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-17 | 2026-04-17 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-18 | 2026-05-06 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-25 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-21 | 2026-01-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-10 | 2025-12-09 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-09 | 2025-12-08 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-30 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-17 | 2025-10-17 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-08-04 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-31 | 2025-07-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-28 | 2025-07-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-24 | 2025-07-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-18 | 2025-07-18 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Is Ally’s Widespread Digital Outage Altering The Investment Case For Ally Financial (ALLY)?
Yahoo Finance ·
Here Are Wednesday’s Top Wall Street Analyst Research Calls: Ally Financial, GitLab, GLOBAL FOUNDRIES, Martin Marietta Materials, Rocket Lab USA, Strategy, Toast, Tower Semiconductor, and More
Yahoo Finance ·
Consumer Finance Stocks Q2 In Review: Ally Financial (NYSE:ALLY) Vs Peers
Yahoo Finance ·
Ally Financial to present at the Barclays Global Financial Services Conference
Yahoo Finance ·
Driving the Next Generation Forward: Court Street Ford's Kenady Minley Recognized With 2026 Ally Sees Her Award
Yahoo Finance ·
Ally Financial Chief Risk Officer Stephanie Richard Sells 5,000 Shares
Yahoo Finance ·
Is the Options Market Predicting a Spike in Ally Financial Stock?
Yahoo Finance ·
The machine-readable brand: Inside Ally Financial’s strategy to win AI search recommendations
Yahoo Finance ·
Ally Financial (ALLY) After Strong Q2 And Buybacks, Is The Stock Still Undervalued?
Yahoo Finance ·
Ally Financial (ALLY) Outage Puts Its Undervalued Narrative To The Test
Yahoo Finance ·
Ally Establishes New Benchmark for What Traditional Economic Indicators Miss
Yahoo Finance ·
Ally Financial (ALLY) Down 3.5% Since Last Earnings Report: Can It Rebound?
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research