Nasdaq · Fire, Marine & Casualty Insurance · CIK 0000947484
$98.10
-0.75% · delayed 15 min
$35.22B market value
What this company does
ARCH CAPITAL sells insurance. It took in $19.93B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 22 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From ARCH CAPITAL GROUP LTD.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +14.3%
$17.44B to $19.93B
Deteriorated: −2.6 pts
24.7% to 22.1%
Deteriorated: -7.5%
$6.62B to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$4.40B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$6.17B cash from operations
It passes almost every standard check of financial strength.
Piotroski 6/6
It keeps less of each sale as profit than it did a year ago.
24.7% → 22.1%
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 2.0% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 22 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $4.40B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $4.40B and generated $6.17B of cash from operations.
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Nothing recent
No insider trades, pending-sale notices or 5% stake filings from ACGL in the last few months. That is the ordinary case, not a gap.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-04 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-28 | 2026-07-28 |
Financial figures are from ACGL's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
6 of 6 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 3 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: -4.6%
376.4M to 359.0M
Changed: -13.7%
$51.0M to $44.0M
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 14.3% last year.
For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.44 in assets. Banks and insurers always carry high debt — that is how lending works — so this is normal for the industry and not comparable with other sectors.
On the cheaper side. Investors pay $8.0 for every $1 of yearly profit.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
At a glance
Reported annual figures
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-16 | 2026-06-15 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-09 | 2026-06-09 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-03 | 2026-06-03 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-03 | 2026-06-02 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-02 | 2026-06-02 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-07 | 2026-05-05 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-05 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-28 | 2026-04-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-20 | 2026-04-19 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-24 | 2026-05-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-26 | 2026-02-26 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-26 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-09 | 2026-02-09 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-22 | 2026-01-15 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-07 | 2025-11-07 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-11-06 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-03 | 2025-10-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-27 | 2025-10-27 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Arch Capital Group (ACGL) Outpaces Stock Market Gains: What You Should Know
Yahoo Finance ·
Arch Capital Lags Industry, Trades at a Premium: Time to Hold or Exit?
Yahoo Finance ·
Arch Capital Group (ACGL) Could Be 9% Below Fair Value After Earnings
Yahoo Finance ·
Best’s Market Segment Report: US and Bermuda Reinsurers Maintain Strong Performance Despite Softening Market
Yahoo Finance ·
KNSL Gains 19.6% in Three Months: What Investors Should Know?
Yahoo Finance ·
Arch Capital Stock: Analyst Estimates & Ratings
Yahoo Finance ·
Berkshire Hathaway Could Have an Insurance Problem as Underwriting Results Weaken
Yahoo Finance ·
CINF Outperforms Industry: What Should Investors Do Now?
Yahoo Finance ·
THG Stock Trades at 2.16x Book Value: Is the Valuation Worth It?
Yahoo Finance ·
Arch Capital (ACGL) Stock Still Trades At A Discount Despite Strong Earnings
Yahoo Finance ·
RenaissanceRe's ILS Platform Supports Fee-Based Earnings Growth
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Is Arch Capital (ACGL) Down 3.7% Since Last Earnings Report?
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research